Bacon Hill Bonanza 5K Race Recap


April 9, 2016 – Start: 10 am

I signed up for 10K instead of the 5k.  They were both the same price and I needed to run 12 miles before my half marathon in 2 weeks.

10 K

Then I remembered the hills of the second half of the 10K and that the 5k was an out and back and would be mostly flat.

5k – not as flat as it looks

So I changed my mind and switched to the 5k and then planned to run 9 miles after.

I ran this race for the past two years and loved it. They had great food – the usual food but also chili and homemade muffins & cookies (including gluten free ones).

20140412-163900.jpg

And there was chocolate milk, fresh from the dairy.

20140412-163910.jpg

Plus, I won a homemade apple pie as first in my age group for the past two years. (28:01, 28:56…not sure I would run this fast this year?)

The race started at 10 am which was good since it would be an hour minute drive from my house.

Again the weather was tricky. What to wear? I was brave the last 2 years and wore a skirt, a baseball cap and no gloves.

This year I wimped out. … It was cold in the morning. Winter has returned to our region.  So I opted for a long sleeve shirt, jacket, skirt attached to capris, compression socks, gloves & a winter hat. I am so tired of winter running clothes but it is still cold out…

I got to the race early and found a parking spot in a field next to the church.  The race started at the church  in the town of Bacon Hill, a small farming town with awesome scenery. (It reminded me of Vermont.)

20140412-163933.jpg

these pics are from last year & the year before …everything still looked the same)

20140412-163921.jpg

20140412-164000.jpg

It was chillier than I thought.  It was in the 30s and 20s with the windchill. Brrrr!! At least, it was sunny!

img_9082

nice shirt with NO advertising and a pasta scoop?

I didn’t think that I would know anyone at this run since two years ago, I hung out with Holly who was in the Turkey Trot training group and now the FRW training group but she had to work this year and couldn’t race.

But I did bump into someone who recognized me from another race.  We chatted about racing, of course.

At the last minute, I decided to shred my jacket. I didn’t bring a windbreaker and it seemed too heavy.

Soon it was time for the race to start. The pastor read a prayer, the church bells rang and we were off.

The 5k was an out and back.  The 10k veered to the right and supposed had hills and breath taking views.

I decided to go out fast.  I always have positive splits so why try not to.  It isn’t as flat as the map shows.  The hills are rolling throughout but not that bad. Even I could run up them.

I loved all the signs along the route.

13978706176_630de8b7c5_z

This one as my favorite:14002247934_c17e330207_z

The wind was a killer.  I was freezing. There were volunteers on the course calling out times. I occasionally glanced down at my Garmin to make sure I was running in the low 9’s. Eventually we turned around and headed back… The wind had calmed down and I was actually very comfortable.

I stopped for water and walked for a little bit.  Not because I was thirsty but because I was was out of breath.  I never seemed to get into my groove. I guess I need to do some speed drills.

I thought I had gotten a second wind but then again, I was winded.

I knew at this point, there would be no PR.  That was fine because I wasn’t expecting one.

As I approached the finish line, I realized that I could still finish under 28 minutes, Unfortunately I had no gas left and I barely made it.  My Gamin said: 27:54!!  And I was pleased.

img_9083

I immediately made a bee line for the chocolate milk.  Boy, was it good.  I had at least 2 cups.

They had the same great food (chili, muffins, cookies, fruit) as last year plus a vegetarian dish and pizza.. I sampled it all! YUM!

image

image

While everyone was waiting for the results and all the 10k runners to be done, I went out to run another 3 miles.

img_9084

img_9085

I ran a mile and then saw that they posted the results…Mine was listed as 27:56 and I was first my age group.

img_9091

Since it was so cold, they said that they wouldn’t be handing out awards and to just pick yours up.

And I won a pie again!!!

img_9096I checked out the 10k results, as well. I would have won there too.

Splits:  

mile 1- 8:44
mile 2 – 9:22
mile 3 – 9:04
.1 – 7:44
_________________

          27:54

All in all, I loved this race.  I will definitely do it again…maybe even the 10K someday. I was happy with my time.  I didn’t go all out but I did beat my time for this course from both the last two years.

I put the pie in my car and headed out to run more miles. I ran one more.

img_9090

img_9093

Then I returned to hear the results of the raffle.  I didn’t win so I left to run one more mile.

img_9094

6 mile down and it was finally time to leave to to meet Judy and her friend, Denise at the Zim Smith Trail to run another 6 miles.

It was a half hour away but I still got there early and had to wait until they had finished their 4 miles. Then we all headed out together. We ran in a different direction from my last time there. I thought it was a lot more scenic – a bridge, a few waterfalls, etc.

img_9097

img_9101

img_9099

I was very happy to have the company. We ran together for most of the miles until I got impatient and ran ahead at the end.

img_9107

img_9113

After we were done with our run, we all had some dessert at the bakery where we parked our cars.

img_9118

delicious bread pudding

After a long soak in the hot tub, I was revived enough to go out to dinner with my hubby.

So I completed my longest training run – 12 miles! It was actually – 3.1 + 1+ 1+1 +6.  Still counts, right?

Happy Running! Are you running or racing this weekend?

runner-sig

27 thoughts on “Bacon Hill Bonanza 5K Race Recap

  1. Congrats on the AG win! Glad to see you still have some speed in you! Since you’ve commented on your speed a few times, I wonder if training with slower runners has affected your speed? Maybe you should throw a tempo run or some speedwork in once/week. I know how much it’s helped me.

    Like

  2. Nicely done! I was close to coming out to do the 5k, but I’ve had a fever and nasty headache/cough all week and am just feeling better. I’m bummed a little because I probably had a shot at winning my age group (although he way my run went yesterday whenever my speed dropped into the 8s, I’d start cough, so no bueno).

    Congrats! Man, I wish I’d gotten the race loot though. Their shirt from last year is one of my favorites and who doesn’t need another pasta ladle? They put on a really great post race (plus I am friendly with the race timing guys).

    Like

  3. Congratulations on the AG win ! Your pictures make things look really cold though! When will spring be here ???? I am in Baltimore this weekend and it is darn.cold.

    Like

  4. Looks like it was cold. Did you stop during the race to take the photos?
    My hot tub keeps tripping the breaker and isn’t up to temperature. I have Boston next week and could really use a good soak!

    Like

  5. Pingback: Empowerment & Global Running Day – My First 5K and More…

Leave a Reply

