TOTR: Goals Update


with Erika @ MCM Mama Runs,
Marcia @ Marcia’s Healthy Slice
and Patty @ My no-guilt life

This week’s topic is “How are your 2016 goals coming along?

Well, in case you don’t remember, 2016 is my year of NO GOALS!!

Instead of GOALS, I wrote about Hopes and Dreams:

I hope to…

  • To improve my running

For me, it’s to get stronger and be a more confident runner.  To have more quality training runs.  To maintain my current speed and if I am very lucky PR at some distance. To run lots of races (both long ones and short ones.)

It’s still early in the year and we are our own worst critic so it’s hard to say whether or not, my running has improved.

I’ve run 10 races – three of which were half marathons.

img_8367

I’ve won three age group awards and 2 of my 5ks under 28 minutes.  There were no PRs but no real disappointing races.

img_8937

  • To run with others

With my schedule, it is easier to run solo.  But running with others is more fun.  I often shy away from running groups (like Fleet Feet, ARE, etc) because I feel that I am too slow.  I hope to take advantage of more group running opportunities.

I have made good progress here. I have run several long runs with Judy.  I have also run with Barbara and Denise.

I recently joined the Freihofer Training Challenge (advanced group) for the 2nd time.

img_8154

  • To volunteer and give back

I had great experiences with this in 2015 and I hope to continue with STEM, GOTR and any others opportunities that present itself.  My specials needs buddy is awesome. I hope to connect with him more.  And to make time to see my mentee Amanda & her kids more often.

I am again volunteering with the STEM training group.  I am also a GOTR buddy.

I haven’t spent as much time with Amanda as I would have liked (due to her work schedule.)

img_9189

spent last Saturday with them 🙂

I dedicate all my runs to JA but only post once a week and have a few tee shirts to mail to him.

ja bday

he just turned 12!!

  • To eat healthier

I am addicted to carbs and sweets.  I can justify the carbs for running but I hope to substitute more fruits and veggies into my diet. This also includes drinking more water.

There’s a lot of room for improvement here.

img_9142

too many of these!

  • To get physically on track

I may not weigh myself but I know for a fact that the excess pounds have moved to an ugly place (my waist & butt).  My excuses have been that it is an age thing (Sorry, the meni pot is a fact.) But I think it is important for me to exercise (not just run and play tennis).  Sit less, walk more? Gym time? Planks? Yoga? Whatever it takes to look better.

Hmmm… 

Well, I have been going for a walk everyday. But that’s it – no gym, no yoga, no exercises…

  • To spend quality time with family and friends

Running is important but not more important than those I care about.  Skipping a run to be with them…it should happen.

I do spend time with my friends.  I walk in the mall with my BFF every other week.  I also go out with my tennis friends and work friends once a month.

img_8565

My hubby has started playing tennis several times a week but we try to fit in dinner out once week.  Soon we will be spending a lot of time together on our boat.

img_8163

There are a few things that I HOPE to work on the next few months.

Happy Running! Did you make goals?  Is so, how are they coming along?

runner-sig

 

6 thoughts on “TOTR: Goals Update

  1. these are all great goals! i want to be stricter with my diet/eat only when i’m truly hungry (and then smaller portions and only healthy things), and get stronger/faster with my running as well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

