TOLT: Injuries, Half Marathons, etc.


Since it is Thursday,  I’m linking up today with Amanda for Thinking Out Loud Thursday.

thinking out loud

Here’s what I’m thinking about today…

Did I dream it?

Last Sunday, I did my last long run.  I used to only run 8 miles the weekend before my half but the last few trainings, I’ve done 10 miles.  So that’s what I planned.  Accidentally I ran 11 but at 4:1 intervals and I felt great afterward.

Arrow Hitting The Heel Of A Foot, Achilles Heel, Symobolizing Weakness And Vulnerability Clipart Illustration Image by Maria Bell

Then in the middle of the night, I woke up with an ache in my right Achilles.  Of course I freaked. The first thing that came to mind was an injury I had in 2011 and the 4 weeks of PT and NO RUNNING.  That would mean a DNS for this half marathon on Sunday and DNSing 11 shorter races in the next few months.

So I iced it, took ibuprofen and put on a compression sock.

The next morning, it felt fine but I was still worried so I wore compression socks to work.  I even considered skipping my evening running practice.

Well, I went for a walk and it felt fine. No pain!

I decided to go to my running group and play it by ear. If it hurt, I would quit.

On the schedule were 8 400m intervals at 5k pace.  They are hard if you are healthy.  My coach recommended not going all out and running at a 15K pace.  That’s what I did. No sign of soreness or pain. Not even a twinge. It feels perfectly normal.

Since then, I have played tennis and I ran 5 miles last night.

Did I dream this injury??

Tennis Elbow

Another strange injury. It’s hurt for about a month.  I stopped playing tennis for 3 weeks and then played once. My elbow wasn’t improving.  It wasn’t worse but it hurt all the time. So I tried to just ignore it.  I even pulled weeds over the weekend.

Then Tuesday, I realized that the pain had completely disappeared. No soreness at all.

I played tennis that evening – no pain.

WTH!?

Next Half Marathon

Half #19 is almost here. The only thing I am worried about is the weather.

apor 23

apr24

It will be chilly in the morning, I bet – 30’s but then warm up.

img_9210

I will definitely wear a skirt and compression socks but I may be switching from the tank. I definitely will have a throw away shirt and arm sleeves.

I know the route and it is very HILLY.  Too late now to train on hills!

I ran this course in 2011 and finished in 2:22:39.  Last month I ran a hilly half marathon & finished in 2:22:40. So my guess is that I will finish between 2:15 and 2:30.

NO GOALS!! Just want to enjoy the race and not get injured!!!

Speed Work instead of Half Marathon Training

I have decided not to train for my next half marathon. (Do as I say not as I do…)

My weekends are too filled up with races.

  • 4-30-16 – Spring Run Off 10K
  • 5-01-16 – Cherry Blossom 5k
  • 5-07-16 – Mastodon Challenge 15k
  • 5-08-16 – Mother’s Day 5K (for GOTR)
  • 5-12-16 – Albany Law Day 5k Against Domestic Violence
  • 5-14-16 – Summer 5k Addiction Awareness Run
  • 5-18-16 to 5-25-16 – TENNIS VACATION IN FLORIDA
  • 5-29-16 – Vermont City Marathon Relay
  • 6-04-16 – Freihofer’s Run for Women 5k
  • 6-12-16  – Run for Help 5k (for STEM)

I am going on vacation. Weekend boating season is starting.

No time for long runs.

Hopefully my legs will not forget in 5 weeks how to complete 13.1 miles.

11203122_10204050010521064_4214761515489463940_n

can’t wait for fun in the sun

So I guess I will focus on speed.  That doesn’t mean that I will get faster (but that would be nice.) But I’m not hating our intervals on Mondays as much as I thought.  (I only wish I had fresh legs for one Monday.)

I’ve never run a half (healthy) without all my long runs.  So we’ll see if I stick to this new plan?

Happy Running! Have you ever had mysterious injuries? Do you always do your long runs before a big race? What’s on your mind today?

runner-sig

15 thoughts on “TOLT: Injuries, Half Marathons, etc.

  1. I absolutely need to do my long runs before a half — if I don’t, I do end up injured. But that’s me. And apparently you broke Denise (she’s having knee pain so not meeting up with me this weekend — but it’s not the first time she’s struggled with knee pain either, so I’m teasing you).

    You do have some long races in there, and you definitely have the training from all the halfs you’ve been running. My bet is you’ll be fine. Good luck!

    Always have weird phantom pains in a taper. You might not actually have tapered, but I’ll bet it’s just your mind playing tricks on you. Don’t know what’s up with the elbow, but you did stop playing & did some exercises — and oftentimes that just needs time.

    Go with the tank — I know you’ll be happier.

    Like

    • Oh no. I hope she’ll be ok for Venice.

      Don’t really have any long races – may drop down to 5k when I am racing 2 days in a row. We’ll see. It makes me nervous to skip long tuns but I just don’t have the time. (Unless I quit my job.)

      Liked by 1 person

      • I think she’ll be ok for Venice — she has almost 6 weeks still.

        She’s a lot like me in that, been struggling with on again/off again knee issues since I’ve known her. In fact, the first year we were running together in USAFit, she had to drop out completely because of it.

        She had some problems last year, too, but started going to the chiropractor — and she’d going now — so I think when all is said & done she’ll be ok.

        Can you run at all in the evenings during boating season?

        Like

        • Yes. My Monday FRW group ends on June 4 and my Wed STEM group on June 12. Otherwise, it’s just tennis on Tues and mah jongg on Friday. I hope we can run together on Monday, Wed or Thurs.

          Boating is just on the weekends unless I take time off (which I doubt.)

          Like

  2. I hate when stuff pops up like that!
    I do’t think it is really an injury until you start dealing with it run after run, or it is off and on for a month or so. and even then, some things are relentless and just pop in and out, like my crazy tight hamstring muscle.
    I hope it was just a little inflammation or a little over use and it resolved for you. Since dealing with these feet for months now, I chose to ignore to what I felt after i ran my half, by the next day all the aches were better, so I just too it easy. I think it is key to go easy!
    Your legs will not forget how to run, especially if you are running some in between 🙂

    Like

  3. I am sure with all your running and experience you will be fine without doing a race before your half. I have been enjoying not having a very strict plan. I still have lots of travel over the next 2 weeks, then I am going to work on my speed a bit before a start another big training cycle.

    So crazy about your injuries. Fingers crossed that everything is gone and stays away.

    Like

  4. I do think our minds mess with us and play games with us. It probably was just in your head. I’ve noticed that happen to me often as I am getting through a work injury. I start thinking something is bothering me and if I think it, it will. But as soon as I can get it out of my mind I realize I am fine and probably nothing was wrong in the first place.
    However when in doubt, always take it easy and air on the side of caution, which it sounds like you’ve been doing well!

    Like

  5. funny, I think you were dreaming! You and I are looking at 2 very different weather forecasts for our half marathons this weekend! WE got this ! I am curious to see how this new training plan works for you- I don’t plan on doing a lot of long runs myself! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

