TOTR: Race Swag


with Erika @ MCM Mama Runs,
Marcia @ Marcia’s Healthy Slice
and Patty @ My no-guilt life

This week’s topic is Dream race swag. What’s the best thing you ever got? What would you love? 

I personally like things that are useful.

Here are some of my favorites:

I still use this lunch bag that I won as an Age Group award

AJH got 2nd place...we won a lunch bag which matches the race shirt
I love socks.


Glasses are cool. It came with a green tooth brush.


Wind breakers are practical.  I have them in green, blue, yellow and orange. (Unfortunately they stopped giving them out.)


Coffee mugs are great.

20140331-090811.jpg

And gloves are handy.

I recently got a sweatshirt that I really like.

img_8792

I’ve also gotten rain ponchos, ice packs, water bottles, food samples, baseball caps, sunglasses, towels, etc.

In addition to useful items, food is another swag item that I appreciate:

I have gotten gift cards for free ice cream and free donuts.  I’ve won restaurant gift cards.

IMG_3925

I’ve run 180 something races.  That’s a lot of swag. (Mostly junk but some good stuff.)

So what would be the perfect swag?

A jacket or sweatshirt, Starbucks or ice cream gift card, coupon for a free massage or gym membership, samples of energy bars or gel. (I could list other things but they would be cost prohibitive 🙂 )

Happy Running! What would be your perfect swag?

runner-sig

18 thoughts on “TOTR: Race Swag

  1. I have only ever gotten shirts but I adore them and wear them all the time. I am much more the shirt and shorts kind of gal and have no problem sporting my running shirt while working in the garden or at the gym. I wish I could have all the fancy running gear but I just can’t afford it on a one income four people household. But I will say, I wouldn’t mind the Starbucks gift card. I have Celiacs and more than likely I can never eat/use the food that is given out. It’s a frustrating but you get used to it.

    Like

  2. I agree, I love useful stuff! I got a buff at one race and I used it a lot in the Winter. There was another one where I got a bottle opener instead of a medal and I appreciated that too 🙂

    Like

  3. I love the beach towel I got at the Celebration half and I love the feetures socks you get at ZOOOMA runs. Cool snack to try are great too!

    Like

  4. Um, you don’t do massages. But you could give it to me. 🙂

    I’ve worn the Celebrate Life jacket a lot & I did wash it on hot to shrink it. Almost sorry I did, it was kind of nice to cocoon into it sometimes!

    I love mugs & socks! One year Firecracker (I think) had coupons for like $10 off at Fresh Market — that was really useful!

    Like

  5. I love useful, good quality things. I get too many water bottles that are just crap. Another thing that bums me out is when I run a destination race and all the coupons and discounts are for local places I’ll never get a chance to go to. I’d love more pint glasses!

    Like

  6. I got a mini foam roller one year, and a sweet Asics backpack another. I think the backpack has been the best swag, but I sure would love a really nice sweatshirt from a race.

    Like

  7. The lunch bag is a great idea. I got a bag of apples once. I definitely prefer useful things, but don’t want mugs or cups because I hate things that do not match !

    Like

    • too expensive, I suppose. I’ve also gotten a backpack that I love and a jar of Biscoff (which started an unhealthy addiction.)

      Like

Leave a Reply

