Monday Running Update


mon r u
Last Week: 

  • Monday  A cool, cloudy day.  I managed to take my Starbucks walk to the park.  I hope you are not tired of tulips pics because they are just beginning to bloom (and I will probably post pics everyday.)

I was secretly hoping that it might rain so I didn’t have to go to my group training run.  But it didn’t rain until much later. On the schedule was 4-6 800m at 5k pace.  I talked to my coach and he said not to do that but to run with the Intermediate group. Phew!!! So I did and the 8:1 intervals were perfect. I spent the first half of the run talking to one of the mentors who is also a Skirt Sports ambassador and the second half to another runner that I met during one of the Troy Turkey Trot training groups.  And actually after that recovery run, my legs felt better.  I even continued my walk in the mall.

  • Tuesday – A cold nasty day.  It also poured most of the day.  I was glad that a rest was on my schedule.  And that I play tennis indoors.

Still went for my walk to the park. The tulips were even prettier in the rain.

  • Wednesday – The day started out poorly.  My car battery died.  Luckily my hubby could drive me to work and my friend could drive me home. Instead of my walk to the park today, I ran near work.

 After work, my tennis friends scheduled a visit to the “Mystery Room” in the mall. We had a blast.  Then afterwards, we went out to dinner (what else?)

we even solved the mystery!

  • Thursday – To celebrate Million Mile Month, my co-workers took a walk to the park at lunch.  (Not so exciting for me, since I do it everyday but they enjoyed viewing the tulips.)

I went for a run after work before walking the mall with my BFF.

tired legs but ran into an old tennis friend

  • Friday – No running today and of course, I walked to the park to gaze at the tulips.

After work, I went to the free pasta dinner given to runners in Saturday’s race.  Chatted with some nice people and ate way too much.

Played mah jongg afterwards.

  • Saturday – Perfect weather for a race.  Unfortunately due to stomach issues, a blister and tired legs, I didn’t have my A game.  Knowing so many runners at this race made it one of my favorites (despite my 4th place AG finish.)

img_9389

Afterwards, I took advantage of the weather and went for a long walk.

img_9394Then drove to pick up my bib for my 5k the next day, went grocery shopping, did some errands, etc..  After a soak in the hot tub, went out to dinner with the hubby.

  • Sunday – I woke up to rain and contemplated bailing on the race.  But I didn’t and I’m glad I didn’t.  My legs were even more tired than yesterday. I gave it my best shot (but only finished 5th in my AG – those darn speedy old people!).  Again, seeing familiar faces made the race much more enjoyable.


19 miles done with 5 runs and 2 rest days.

This Week:  (4 weeks until Half Marathon #20) 

  • Monday  Freihofer Challenge Group Run (3 miles)
  • Tuesday – Practice GOTR 5K
  • Wednesday 3 miles, STEM Run
  • Thursday – rest, b-day dinner & movie with BFF
  • Friday rest, mah jongg
  • Saturday 15K race, Tulip Fest with mentee & sons
  • Sunday5K race (GOTR), dinner out for Mother’s Day
Once again, I am linking up for the Weekly Wrap hosted by Holly @ HoHoRuns and Tricia @ MissSippiPiddlin.   See rules here.
http://hohoruns.blogspot.com

Happy Running! How is your running going?  Any races?

runner-sig

13 thoughts on “Monday Running Update

  1. Wow, spring has finally arrived in your neck of the woods. Those flower photos are gorgeous. Sorry you didn’t get any AG awards this week but that seems to be the exception rather than the norm. Nice job racing anyway.

    Like

    • It is still chilly on most days…like today!

      I guess when you get old, you expect them.

      I realized that many runners, like you, are still fast.

      Like

  2. I think your tulip pictures are beautiful – love seeing them!

    Is that mystery room like an escape room? We just had one of those open up in our town and I was thinking it would be fun to do with my running peeps.

    Like

  3. We had to replace not one but two of the batteries in our diesel this week. Let me tell you that was a chunk too!
    How long did it take you to do the mystery? I still want to do one. They had several in LA when we were there in October. Halloween themed like a killer was coming back to get you so you had to get out!

    Like

  4. Do you ever sit still? I think not! You’re doubling up on weekend races now? Wow! I can’t keep up with you. Tulips are so pretty but I’ve never had much success growing them myself. Thanks for linking with us Darlene!

    Like

Leave a Reply

