Wednesday Word: Encourage


Deb Runs

Every Wednesday, the Deb from Deb Runs will be providing a word about which to blog. Kind of like a nice little blog prompt. Posts can be fitness or health related, but don’t have to be, so really anyone can play along. Just be sure to link up with InLinkz on Deb’s main post, and share the love by reading and commenting on other’s participant’s posts.

Today’s word is ENCOURAGE.

What does it mean to “encourage?”

  • to give support, confidence, or hope to (someone).
  • to give support and advice to (someone) so that they will do or continue to do something.
  • to help or stimulate (an activity) to develop.

This easily applies to running.  We can encourage others to become runners, to complete their first 5k, to run faster or to run farther.

I am always looking for opportunities to encourage/mentors other runners.  It may be due to the fact that I was a teacher for so many years and that I think running is a great thing.

There’s the STEM (domestic violence survivors) program which I have been active in.

and GOTR (for girls in grades 3-5) where I have been a running buddy.

10917256_361783967363595_7880664523982825473_o

I’ve also mentored SRMs (Strong Running Mamas), a beginning runner’s group.

FRW - 2010

Even when I run with a friend, I try to be encouraging.

IMG_6042

However, I think encouraging others is easier than encouraging yourself.

I think we tend to expect a lot of ourselves and we are also over critical of our performances….

  • “I should have run faster.”
  • “Why did I start out so fast”
  • Why did I walk up all those hills?”
  •  What can’t I finish under XXX?
  • “I’ll never be that fast.”
  • “I’m so slow. No one will want to run with me.”
  • “Why am I always injured?”
  • Will I ever win an age group award?”

Have you ever said to yourself any of the above?

Happy Running! How do you encourage others?  Do you encourage yourself?

runner-sig

3 thoughts on “Wednesday Word: Encourage

  1. You are definitely encouraging & also giving — all those time you’ve stayed out in the cold to take my finish photos are much appreciated.

    Yes, I can be hard on myself, but I also am aware of my achievements as well. I think I have a very realistic view of my running.

    Like

  2. I agree that it is much easy to give encouragement to others than yourself. I am lucky to be surrounded by a very supportive group of runners and that helps when I am feeling a little badly about my performance.

    Like

Leave a Reply

