Runfessions May – the Vacation Edition


It’s that time again.  Time to get things off my chest with Marcia’s Runfessions at Marcia’s Healthy Slice

My Naples, Fl. vacation was wonderful but

I runfess…

I am usually good about resting and taking care of my body but I RAN 7 DAYS IN A ROW during my vacation.  I couldn’t help it.  The freedom of not having to rush off to work…. Everyday I ran (though slow and with walk breaks) at least 3 miles in a different Naples neighborhood. I got up earlier than I do when I go to work (and of course, went to bed late every night so I am currently suffering from a vacation hangover!!!)

img_9664

img_9768

img_9910

img_9719

I runfess…

I recently suffered from tennis elbow.  The pain has left since I put new strings on my racquet but I was planning on being cautious.  Still I played tennis (doubles) for at least one hour 7 DAYS IN A ROW and also took a tennis lesson 4 of those days after playing doubles.  It was great.  It made me remember why I love the game.

img_9887

img_9712

snapseed

I runfess…

All my healthy eating habits (did I have any??) went out the window.  Breakfast was oatmeal & tea and lunch was yogurt and fruit but we went out to dinner every night.  I had dessert…always.  It was worth every calorie.

img_9647

shrimp & crab roll

img_9757

shrimp & grits!

img_9679

best key lime pie ever!

img_9717

chocolate martini – yum!

I runfess…

I love the SUN!!!  I know it’s bad for your skin and ages you but I feel and look better with a tan.  (And yes, I do use sunscreen but only 15 SPF.)  At least I was blessed that I don’t burn easily. We went to the beach 6 times and the pool twice.  So happy was I!!!!!!!

img_9843

img_9832

img_9906

img_9940

the water was 85 degrees – heavenly

I runfess…

I have a half marathon tomorrow.  I did not do ANY long runs to train.  5 weeks ago I ran a half marathon and 3 weeks ago, I ran a 15k but that was it.  And while on vacation, I didn’t care.  I could have run.  I had the time.  It was hot & humid and I wanted to play tennis with my friends.  I will probably regret my lack of training.  Oh well.  Sometimes other things trump running.

img_9652

late night at the Monkees concert

img_9715-1

another late night – dinner at a comedy club

img_9732-1

dinner & drinks at the Ritz to watch the sun set – the best time!!

img_9835

boat ride to see the dolphins and we saw so many!!!!

img_9787

img_9907

even though the movie starred Ryan Gosling, it was awful

img_9922

Naples Botanical gardens – so beautiful!!

Happy Running! Anything to runfess?  Do all your healthy routines vanish during vacations?

runner-sig

8 thoughts on “Runfessions May – the Vacation Edition

  1. Looks like such a fun weekend! I’m good at taking my rest days too but sometimes you have to take advantage of opportunities. I confess I love the sun too but starting to see some of its damage and wrinkles so I am going to try harder

    Like

  2. You and your friends packed in a lot during that vacation, and it all sounds awesome!! Glad you had such a wonderful trip. I think vacation eating is where you SHOULD try all the things; it’s part of the experience. 🙂

    Like

  3. But you ran 7 days in a row . . .

    I do love sun, but I burn easily so I’m careful. I do get tan because of running, despite sunblock, but I don’t try to tan.

    Last vacation was indulgent, this one not so much.

    Like

  4. Naples is such a beautify spot in Florida! I am glad you had such a good time while on vacation! Vacations are for eating & drinking 😊 No rules!

    Like

  5. This looks like a fun, fun trip! I run more often when I’m at the beach than anywhere else. It’s like I can’t help myself (and what else am I going to do each morning?). It also gives me an excuse to eat all the yummy seafood. I adore the sun. It gives me such energy and life. I am smarter these days too about sunscreen and SPF.

    Like

  6. No apologies needed for running every day! You had a beautiful place to do it. I runfess you put my vacations to shame! Can I just go with you?? Loved all the food, drinks and smiles! I can’t wait to be in some of your pictures later this year too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

