Empowerment & Global Running Day


1342896_1280x720.jpg

Hey, runners! Today is a holiday just for us!

I am linking up with Kristin at Jonesin’ for a run with a look into my miles and my second blog post of the day.

Why do I run ?

I started running because 2 friends talked me into it.  But I continue to run because I enjoy it.  It makes me feel younger, stronger and empowered.

vcm3

How do I plan to celebrate National Running Day ?

I hope to run with the Freihofer Training Challenge group after work and I signed up for big race, of course.

13.1 in Stuart, FL – March 2017

How many miles have you run so far this year? Do you have a mileage goal for the year?

I hope to hit 1000 miles for the first time.

2016

466 miles so far

What big events do you have on the race calendar so far this year?

Before I leave for a run, I must have…

My iphone.  I use the Runkeeper app for distance and I like to take photos with it.  Sometimes I even listen to music on it. Of course, I have it in case of an emergency.

Do you track your runs? If so what do you use?

Yes, I record all my runs on Daily Mile and I use my Garmin 205 for races.

Who is your favorite running partner?

I usually run alone but I also enjoy sharing my runs with Barbara & Judy.

clhm

What races have you run so far this year?  

If you have to give someone one piece of advice about running, what would it be?

Do it! You don’t have to be young or thin or fast.  Join a group and start to run and then sign up for a race.  You won’t regret it!!!

Describe your relationship with running in one word:

Empowerment.

So that’s why I am also linking up with Deb from Deb Runs for her Wednesday Word post prompt.

Deb Runs

Today’s word is EMPOWERMENT.

This is running for me!

Almost there!
I especially felt it during my last half marathon.

Happy Running! How did you celebrate Global Running Day?  What empowers you?

runner-sig

10 thoughts on “Empowerment & Global Running Day

    • i think so but only if I stay injury-free and run more half marathons. I ran 4 the first half of the year and only have 2 scheduled for the rest. I don’t run a lot of miles if I’m not training.

      Liked by 1 person

    • You should. I learned that the hard way – the day I broke my ankle.

      6 miles before work ! Wow! How early do you get up?

      Like

  1. I’m at 350, but no real mileage goal for the year. More about staying injury free! If my ankle hadn’t started to bother me, I’d probably be further along.

    And sadly I wasn’t able to take advantage of the nice weather the last few days . . . hoping to get out there this afternoon when it’s nice and hot. I’m not sure that will really help me with Saturday.

    Like

    • Sat is always a fun race. It’s so crowded you can’t do much. It was really warm yesterday. Today is a lot cooler. I was attempted to ask you to run with me but I think I may take a few days off and spend time with friends.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I celebrated by doing 3.5 miles of speed work…in the heat. It looks like your own your way to achieving 1000 miles. Our race is 6 months from today. Can’t wait!

    Like

Leave a Reply

