Monday Running Update


mon r u
Last Week: 

  • Monday – My first day being unemployed.  It’s amazing that when you have so much time, you get so little done.  I did manage to go for a windy walk and then run with two friends.

img_0163

  • Tuesday – I decided to take advantage of my time off to play some tennis. I joined a tennis group at Prospect Park in Troy, met some new players and had a lot of fun.  Then I went grocery shopping at Target.  No running scheduled for today but I did register for some more races.
snapseed

pic not from today but I wore a similar outfit

  • Wednesday –  Another gorgeous day.  I played tennis in a round-robin at a country club, got my hair cut and then went for a short run. (I was supposed to run with a new friend but she had to cancel.)

evening run at Colonie Town Park

  • Thursday – Played tennis in the same place as Tuesday.

 But I met some new women who invited me out to lunch.  Well, we wound up talking for 4 hours!! About everything from tennis to running to fitbits to mah jongg.

After lunch, I met a friend to run.  It was HOT!! The company was good but the run was not.  Do not run in the middle of a hot sunny day after eating a BLT and sweet potato fries.

ran with Barbara but bumped into to running friend Tom on the trail

In the evening, I went out to dinner (at a Peruvian place) with a former co-worker and then visited with a good friend (who happens to be Peruvian).

  • Friday – Day 4 in a row of tennis! I played today with a different group of women.   It was near where I live so I could walk to the courts.

30 min. walk each way = STEPS

  • Saturday – Ran 5k race. It was such a fun race because I knew so many runners there.

I had thought of going up to our boat but instead stayed home to catch up cleaning, weeding or other stuff around the house.

  • Sunday – Ran my 2nd 5k race of the weekend. Definitely the smallest race I have ever run.

2nd woman overall and first in my age group

and then spent the rest of the day relaxing on one of the islands of Lake George with my hubby and 9 of our friends.

img_0238

I decided to stay up at the lake on our boat so I could run up here in the morning.

what a view!

14 miles done with 4 runs and 3 rest days.

This Week:  

  • Monday – 7 mile long run, hiking
  • Tuesday – rest, tennis Am & PM
  • Wednesday – tennis, 3 mile run with a new friend
  • Thursday –  rest, tennis AM, dinner with a former co-worker
  • Friday –  trip to NYC: 4 mile running tour of Central Park, MOMA visit, dinner with a fellow running blogger
  • Saturday – rest
  • Sunday – Adirondack Distance 10 m run, boating
Once again, I am linking up for the Weekly Wrap hosted by Holly @ HoHoRuns and Tricia @ MissSippiPiddlin.   See rules here.
http://hohoruns.blogspot.com

Happy Running! How is your running going?  Any races?

runner-sig

17 thoughts on “Monday Running Update

  1. I missed that you lost your job – and I agree, it’s easy to let your day go by without some sort of schedule…I’m sure you’ll get a handle on it soon. Sounds like you had lots of fun getting to be so active with all of the tennis and running and lunching – life is good. 🙂

    Like

  2. It sounds like you have been enjoying spending time playing lots of tennis. I’m sure you miss work, but hopefully you can continue to run, play tennis and have fun until another opportunity comes your way.

    Like

  3. Somehow I missed your unemployment status. I’m sure you’ll have a new opportunity (and perhaps a better one?) very soon. It sounds like a great week of tennis, running, boating, and new friends. We’ve been gone for the past few weekends so I very much look forward to boating and water skiing this weekend. Thanks for linking with us Darlene.

    Like

Leave a Reply

