Wednesday Word: Lost (Opportunities)


Deb Runs

Every Wednesday, the Deb from Deb Runs will be providing a word about which to blog. Kind of like a nice little blog prompt. Posts can be fitness or health related, but don’t have to be, so really anyone can play along. Just be sure to link up with InLinkz on Deb’s main post, and share the love by reading and commenting on other’s participant’s posts.

Today’s word is LOST.

My first thoughts about this word is that lately, I have been feeling “lost.”  For the past 40 years, work has been my purpose or my direction in life.  Without a job and an uncertain future, I feel lost.

But instead of writing a depressing post, I will describe THREE opportunities that were recently NOT lost.  I decided that life is short and to leave my comfort zone.

  1. As you know I play tennis.  It is now pretty social and I always play with my friends.  We all know each other’s strengths and weaknesses.  There’s a lot of chatting and laughing. It’s never about winning but about getting exercise and going out to dinner afterwards.

With a lot of extra free time, I decided to join a new tennis group.  I didn’t really know anyone and also didn’t know their level of play.  But they are mostly retired and I fit in right away.

Then one day, they asked for volunteers to play in an inter-club league.  No one in the group really wanted to. But I volunteered.

Well, I could see why.  The players were younger and played regularly with other country club  stay at home moms. Their level of play was a lot more serious.

Was I uncomfortable? Of course.  Was everyone friendly?  Not really.  Am I glad that I seized the opportunity?

 Well, I signed up to play again!!

2. My husband and I have a boat that we keep at a marina on Lake George.  The boat is big enough to sleep on (even has AC) and we do stay overnight often.  Last Sunday night, everyone left because they had to work on Monday morning. I normally would go home, as well.

img_0249

But Monday promised to be a beautiful day so I hesitated but I stayed…by myself.  No big deal but I have never stayed there alone.  I wasn’t planning to drive the boat but there are so many buzzers that could go off which I wouldn’t have the slightest idea what to do.

But again, I seized the opportunity and saw this:

img_0246

And then in the morning, ate breakfast here:

img_0247

Then instead of running in my boring neighborhood, I ran 7 miles…. with these views:

img_0257

img_0252

img_0258

img_0264

Totally worth it.

3. With a whole day ahead of me, I decided to go hiking.  I am not a hiker.  I am clumsy and have no sense of direction.  But I asked for info and got some recommendations for a few easy hikes.

And I hiked up to Thomas Mountain cabin…by myself!!

img_0280

marker signs the whole way – even I couldn’t get lost

It wasn’t difficult but it was 1.4 miles UPHILL. Very sunny and hot but worth it!!!

img_0296

lots of daisies and butterflies along the trail – ❤ both

img_0291

inside the cabin at the top

img_0292

a young guy who RAN up took this pic and then he RAN down

img_0284

img_0286

I enjoyed my hike so much that I decided to do a second one.  This one was called Amy’s Park.

img_0319

img_0302

again the trail was well-marked

It was quite shady and wet but also quite enjoyable.img_0305

img_0308

Sometimes you have to leave your comfort zone.

I hope I get more opportunities like these…but you never know….

Happy Running!  Are you a risk taker?  What daring tasks have you tackled?

runner-sig

12 thoughts on “Wednesday Word: Lost (Opportunities)

  1. We did have similar thoughts. How adventurous to stay on your boat! The reward for staying and hiking was spectacular too. 99.9% of the time, I come back from trying something new and say “That Was Fun!”. I’m not advocating doing dangerous things, but you’ve got to at least be open to things that come your way. The possibilities are endless. Can’t wait until December!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have tried many things, some successes, some failures.Sleeping on the boat must be fantastic (as long as you don’t set a buzzer off). We used to cruise a lot . . . sleeping on a rocking boat, which of course is quite different when it’s a cruise ship — still, it’s so incredibly soothing.

    I some point this summer i want to do a day trip to Lake George (like the way we just did in Bennington), so if you continue to hike, I just night have some idea of where to go (if it’s dog friendly).

    I was never career driven. I didn’t really decide to retire 10 years ago, it just sort of happened. But I never felt too lost. I’m a homebody and I keep busy. There never seems to be enough time to do everything I want even staying at home!

    Like

    • We’re in Bolton 30 min. north of Lake George. Don’t know if dogs are allowed. The mountain one was pretty strenuous but worth it for the view. I’m an awful sleeper so the noise of the water does keep me awake but still worth it despite being all alone.

      Like

  3. It’s wonderful that you are taking advantage of your newfound extra time – and GO YOU for joining that slightly uncomfortable tennis group! Show those youngsters how it’s done. 😉

    Like

  4. Go Darlene! I like sense of adventure. You are living my dream right now!! Hiking up big hills and mountains is what I dream about. Don’t you love those folks who run crazy elevation like that LOL
    Did I miss something?? Did you retire?

    Like

  5. I’m so impressed that you have the courage to do so many things solo. The whole tennis thing I get….I used to be that stay at home mom who played 4 times per week, and loved it. But hopefully other players thought I was friendly! Staying on the boat would be a fun thing to do with the views the next morning and what a gorgeous place for a run. I do hope you carry some spray like Halt just in case…..that is the mother in me talking…sorry!

    Like

Leave a Reply

