Five Five: Take a Hike


img_1061

My Friday Five topic this week is Why I Like To Hike.

By hiking, I don’t mean climbing mountains (though maybe someday and not alone).  I mean doing walking trails especially ones with a view at the end.

  1. No Pace or Distance To Worry About

You can go slow or fast.  Run or Walk.  You can go as far as you want and then go back to where you started.  Pretty simple.

img_0663

2. It’s Great Exercise.

Your legs are going up and down. Over rocks and trees.  You also use your arms to help you climb or hold onto trees. It’s a workout!

3. You Get To See Nature At Its Finest.

Trees, flowers, birds, animals.  Butterflies are my favorite.

4. It’s Peaceful.

I spent quite some time on my last hike just sitting and looking out.

img_0693

5. It’s FREE.

Most hiking trails are well-marked, have parking and don’t cost a thing.

img_0280

There are 11 trails near Lake George.  I  have done 2 (the easiest ones).  I would only attempt some of the others with a partner.

chesterc

About 15 miles north, there are 8 more trails. I plan to do the challenge above this summer. I already hiked four last Monday

Cougar Trail

Dynamite Hill

Stewart Mountain

Chester Creek

I’m linking up with three DC area bloggers Mar at Mar On the Run, Cynthia at You Signed Up For What?! and Courtney from Eat Pray Run, DC .  Anyone can join with their own Friday Five post (yes, it must be a Friday Five!!)  They encourage you to visit other blogs on the linkup, comment, share and engage!

Happy Running! Do you like to hike?

runner-sig

7 thoughts on “Five Five: Take a Hike

Leave a Reply

