Monday Running Update


mon r u
Last Week: 

  • Monday –  The plan was  to be on the boat Sunday night so I could run in the am and then do 2 more hikes. But the rain interfered.  Instead I stayed home and had a pretty productive day. I squeezed in a sweaty run between the raindrops followed by a trip to the gym.


I also made a trip to Clothes Mentor (a consignment shop) and made some $$ from some unwanted clothes, shoes & bags.  I actually cooked dinner for the hubby (chicken parm w/pasta) and then walked the mall with my BFF.

  • Tuesday – I went to a workshop on Gaming at a local middle school and then played tennis – no running today.

found this nice surprise on my windshield

finally a nice evening for tennis

  • Wednesday –  Day 2 of the workshop. A lot of sitting, a lot of eating. (Made this with Voki.)Luckily in the evening, I ran with Alyssa.  It was warm but not as hot as last week.  Alyssa is patient with my need to walk. When I walk, she runs slow and I catch up. Unfortunately I had to quit before she finished her 7 miles due to back pain. (It’s always something.)

at the Corning bike path

  • Thursday -Another trip to NYC. My friend drove us so we didn’t need to deal with train schedules. We took the bus to Bryant Park where we watched the casts from Avenue Q, Holiday Inn, American in Paris & Beautiful performWe had lunch in a restaurant overlooking the park and then walked (40 blocks) to the Metropolitan Museum of Art to see the Fashion Institute.  (This year’s theme was Manus x Machina).

We ended the day with dessert and tea at the Neue Gallerie before driving back home – a LONG but enjoyable day. I ❤ NYC!!

  • Friday – Played tennis in the AM. The weather was perfect. The rest of the day was pretty unproductive.

walked to and from the courts too

  • Saturday – Ran a 8.4 mile race called Race The Train and raced the train is which is what we did.  I didn’t beat it but had a fun time running up and down all the hills. No lie.  It was a tough one.

even won my age group

Afterwards I did my last two hikes of the Chester Challenge.

Kipp Mountain

Palmer Pond Trail

Spent the rest of the day at the marina – at the beach and on our friend’s boat.

  • Sunday – Since I had time to kill while waiting for my hubby to arrive at the marina, I decided to go for a hike. This was my favorite so far.


This we spent the rest of the day on the lake with friends.

floating in the bay by Long Island

17 miles done with 3 runs and 4 rest days.

This Week:  

  • Monday breakfast and day at the race track
  • Tuesday – 3 mile run, PM tennis
  • Wednesday4 mile run with a friend
  • Thursday –  3 mile run, pool/tennis party
  • Friday –  AM tennis, rest, marina party or tennis party
  • Saturday – 10K race + 3 miles, knitting weekend at the Schroon River House
  • Sunday – knitting, boating
Once again, I am linking up for the Weekly Wrap hosted by these wonderful bloggers Holly @ HoHoRuns and Tricia @ MissSippiPiddlin.   See rules here.
http://hohoruns.blogspot.com

Happy Running! How is your running going?  Any races?

runner-sig

13 thoughts on “Monday Running Update

  1. I can’t wait to hear about racing the train! Sounds like a crazyfun race.

    You are so lucky to live close enough to NYC to go there so often…I love how you see so much when you are in the city.

    Like

  2. One of our neighbors actually does educational games. Apparently she’s very good at it. Unfortunately it’s also her husband that has lung cancer, and I haven’t seen them in quite some time & don’t know what’s going on with them.

    Maybe we could meet up next Tuesday. Since I’m not doing speedwork with the group, I have a little more flexibility to vary runs (but not so much for the days, they’re really pretty much locked in since I’m running 4 x week.

    I might see you sat. Haven’t made up my mind yet.

    Like

  3. I enjoyed seeing your pictures on FB and IG! Still smiling at the note you found. What a great idea for a race it would be fun to run along side it anyway! I think this being unemployed is looking good on you!

    Like

  4. I bet dessert tasted great after walking 40 blocks!! Sounds like a fun day!
    Another good week for ya!
    8.4 miles may be the strangest race distance ever. Cool medal though

    I am loving all this hiking you are doing.

    Like

  5. That’s such a neat concept for a race. I love trains anyway. Congrats on the age group win. In several weeks, we’ll be complaining about not being about to go boating. It’s the only thing that has made this heat bearable. I’d really enjoy hiking but we don’t have anything interesting around here. Or maybe I’m just clueless about it. It sounds like another great trip into NYC! Thanks for linking, Darlene!

    Like

Leave a Reply

