TOTR: Race Mishaps


with Erika @ MCM Mama Runs,
Marcia @ Marcia’s Healthy Slice
and Patty @ My no-guilt life

This week’s topic is Race Mishaps

The more races you run, the more likely there will be mishaps.

That means I’ve  had quire a few.

If you read my blog regularly, you’ve probably heard all about these:

  • There was the time that I thought it would be 60 degrees and sunny (like the day before the race) and it turned out to be 30 degrees and sleeting. Yes, I nearly froze to death.

Lake George Half – 2011

  • There was the time that we had a power failure so my alarm clock didn’t go off and I got up late.  I drove 90 mile like a crazy lady and the race started late due to a traffic jam.
walkwayhm1

I felt like the lady next to me looked – Walkway Half 2015

  • There was the time that I postponed going to a doctor about a sore foot because I was visiting my best friend from high school/college and running a race. It turned out that I had a stress fracture in my foot.
Runners World 5K

Runners World 5K 2012 (smiling through the pain)

  • Of course, there was the time that I broke my foot at the mile 1 water stop but finished the race anyway.
good thing I kept those critches

post Freihofer’s 5k 2013

  • And then there was the time when I waited 3  hours to run the 2nd half of a marathon relay and it got cancelled due to the heat when I was only at mile 4.

heading (unoffically) to the finish line of the VCM Relay 2016

  • There was the one mile race where I thought it started in the same place as the 5k.  It didn’t. So I had to sprint a mile to start and got there after it started (and still got an age group award.)

IMG_5868

Moreau Mile -2015

I could go on and on.  There were many rainy races, hot races, cold races, windy races, races too short, races too long, race where my chip was not recorded (and I would have gotten an age group award), race that had me in the wrong age group (and I would have gotten an award), etc etc etc.

Happy Running! What was your worst race mishap?

runner-sig

 

7 thoughts on “TOTR: Race Mishaps

  1. My mishaps usually have to do with the weather. I hate running in the cold rain and unfortunately have had to. Several times.

    Like

Leave a Reply

