TOLT: Resting & Running Friends, Racing, etc.


thinking out loud

Since it is Thursday,  I’m linking up today with Amanda for Thinking Out Loud Thursday.

Here’s what I’m thinking about today:

Image result for rest days running

Last week, I did NOT take a rest day.  I either ran, walked, hiked, played tennis and a combination of some of these EVERYDAY.

Image result for rest days running

So last Sunday, I took a REST DAY! (I only cheated with a short hike.)

img_1407

It has made all the difference!

This week I feel much better and my runs have been better.  So much so that I may take a REST DAY tomorrow.

Until this summer, most of my runs have been solo. I could run where I wanted, when I wanted and at the pace I wanted. Sounds perfect, right?

No, running with a FRIEND is so much more enjoyable. I’ve had to drive to my run. I’ve had to run in very hot temps. I’ve had to run at a slower pace. I’ve had to run at a faster pace.

So worth it!

I was fortunate to run this week with 3 friends:

If  you read my blog, I RACE a lot. Like every weekend.

In preparation for my next half marathon (and other social obligations), I am NOT racing this weekend or next.

Who am I kidding? I will miss it!  It will take restraint not to hit that Register button.

Instead I will try to fit in my 11 mile and 12 mile long runs.

Image result for long runs ecards

Yes, that’s me.

Should I run on Saturday morning and then go boating or to the river house for our “mah jongg weekend’?

pic from a previous year

Should I skip it and enjoy the weekend and do my long run on Monday???

Maybe next week, I should do my long run n Friday since it’s a holiday weekend and there is a Christmas Party on the lake.

also from a previous year

Decisions…decisions…

Happy Running!  Do you take rest days?  Do you go through racing withdrawal?  Do you have a problem fitting in your long runs?  What are you thinking about this Thursday?

runner-sig

7 thoughts on “TOLT: Resting & Running Friends, Racing, etc.

  1. I’ve been trying to cut down on races this year and not sure I’ve succeeded at all. I just signed up for another one today! That Christmas party on the lake looks interesting 🙂

    Like

  2. It is nice you have some fun things ahead to do 🙂 A Christmas party is kind of funny.
    I usually take rest days when I run out of motivation lol or my feet hurt. I just crash and can’t go anymore. I rarely plan them.
    A few weeks off to run a little easier will do you good for training 🙂 I wonder if you can do it both weekends!

    Like

  3. At the moment I’m not even sure I’ll be able to run even if I want to Monday (and it’ll be hotter in Poughkeepsie and no treadmill available, either).

    BTW, while it was slow for you, I think that may have been the fastest 3 miles we’ve run together.

    I’m sure running with Barbara and Alyssa are good for you. I’m good for the days you want an easy run. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

