Friday Five: Summer Highlights


It’s Friday so I am linking up with three DC area bloggers Mar at Mar On the Run, Cynthia at You Signed Up For What?! and Courtney from Eat Pray Run, DC .  Anyone can join with their own Friday Five post (yes, it must be a Friday Five!!)  They encourage you to visit other blogs on the linkup, comment, share and engage!

I had my first Starbucks Pumpkin Spice Latte and I go back to working next Wednesday so it feels like summer is over.

My Friday Topic is Five Best Things About This Summer.

I won’t say “Not Working” because it is very stressful being unemployed with no idea when your next paycheck will arrive not to mention health care…

 1. Rediscovering Tennis

Once I started running, I pretty much lost interest in tennis. I played only once a week and on tennis vacations.  Well, this summer, I played outdoors a lot.  My tennis improved.  But the best thing was that I played in four different groups and met some awesome ladies.

img_1299

near my house with Ellie and Stella

2. Discovering Hiking

I never really hiked before. I didn’t have the time nor the confidence to do so.  But this summer I fought my fears and did a few solo hikes.  The more hikes I did, the more confident I got and the more I enjoyed it.

img_0293

Thomas Mountain


img_1357

Stewart Mountain


img_1397

Pinnacle Point

3. Finding a New Running Friend

I used to run mostly alone.  Sometimes Judy & I could fit in a run together (but mostly in the winter) and occasionally I would run with Barbara. Well, I met Alyssa on FB and since she is new the area, she was glad to have a running partner.  Since we met in June, we have run once a week together.

with Alyssa

with Alyssa

4. Visiting NYC

Love love love NYC.  I have been fortunate to find different people to help me feed my addiction.

image

Central Park with Judy


img_0997

Food Tour with Eileen & Mary Pat


13872902_10155034524484428_5890876133543335688_n

Metropolitan Museum of Art with Catalina and Fran

My last summer trip will be on Tuesday to see Anna (from Russia.)

brunch at Gordon Ransey's The Maze restaurant

brunch at Gordon Ransey’s The Maze restaurant – May 2012

5. Running and Boating along and on Lake George

Said to be the “Queen” of all lakes.  I love Lake George.  I’ve run one race on either side of the lake and one in the village.

img_0404

Adirondack 10 Miler


img_0225

Firemen 5K


img_1458

Camp Chingachgook 10K

I am also lucky enough to have a boat so I can hang out on the lake with my hubby and our boating friends.

IMG_6136

in Shelving Rock Bay

Honorable Mention: Watching the Olympics

Image result for highlights of olympics 2016

Happy Running! What did you like best about this summer?

runner-sig

15 thoughts on “Friday Five: Summer Highlights

  1. I love how you’re so active and fill your life up with so many things and people who give you joy. Also of course always love your NYC shout-outs! Have fun with your friend next week – looking forward to seeing where you go.

    Like

  2. Nice summer! I think really working my training plan and finally meeting my 5K goal was fun! I am looking forward to some fall adventure 🙂

    Like

  3. great summer highlights ❤

    admittedly I didn't have the best summer ever. however, I did go for a long weekend to Dublin with the Hubs for Rock'n'Roll Race weekend (we did the 5k and the Half). I saw tons of friends there (that I met in Paris and Liverpool) and it was just a fabulous weekend in general. I love meeting people from the internet who have the same passion as I do – running friends are SO great; glad you found Alyssa to add to your running friend circle!

    Like

  4. You had a really great summer. Despite the humidity, it seems like the weather was cooperative and you took advantage of it. Great meeting you in NY, see you in November !

    Like

Leave a Reply

