Wednesday Word: Teach


Deb Runs

Every Wednesday, the Deb from Deb Runs will be providing a word about which to blog. Kind of like a nice little blog prompt. Posts can be fitness or health related, but don’t have to be, so really anyone can play along. Just be sure to link up with InLinkz on Deb’s main post, and share the love by reading and commenting on other’s participant’s posts.

This week’s word is:

Image result for teach
I’ve been a Teacher my whole adult life.

I’ve taught high school French.  Then I taught K-12 teachers how to use technology in the class room. After that, I taught law school professors how to use various technology tools. Now in career #4, I am to learning so I can teach CPS caseworkers how to use a required a software-application in their job.

I have also been a Student.

Running has been my Teacher for the past few years.

What has running taught me??

1.

Image result for what does running teach you

Who would  have imagined that a clumsy lady in her 60’s could run 13.1 miles!!

sshm5


2.Image result for what does running teach you

I have run in monsoon rains, sweltering heat and with broken bones. I have learned to never quit!

2

first half after left ankle surgery & right foot stress fracture – pretty painful


3.

Image result for finishing = winning
Some of my proudest moments are my slowest races. Because I finished! I learned that in those difficult races, finishing=winning.

finished that cancelled VCM relay


4.Image result for age is only a number

When I run and I don’t notice the wrinkles, bags under my eyes and the sagging skin. I feel younger than ever. I credit running.

untitled


5Image result for great things never came from comfort zones

Since I started running, I have done things I would have never attempted before. I’ve taken race-cations alone.  I started hiking and done most of my hikes solo.  Running has made me a more confident person. I have learned that life is short and to take some risks.

image

race-cation in Brooklyn


6Image result for running with friends

It’s not about pace with you run with a friend. It’s about sharing your common interest – running.  I have learned that running with friends even if they are faster or slower is always more enjoyable than running alone.

with Alyssa

with Alyssa

Happy Running!  What has running taught you?

runner-sig

9 thoughts on “Wednesday Word: Teach

  1. Love this!! Rock on Darlene 🙂 I’ve been running for 40 years and a more recent thing running – specifically ultrarunning – has taught me is that sometimes you might not be able to finish and that’s OK. Not finishing is a learning experience and a training experience. You take that “DNF” and make yourself stronger from it. xxxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

