Monday Running Update


ru

Last Week:

  • Monday –  Tonight was our first Troy Turkey Trot Training group run.  So even though I ran 13.1 miles the day before, I had to go. It was a kind of reunion with the 10K runners.  I just took it very slow. My favorite coach Patrick was leading the intermediate group so we had a new guy.  He had up run outside the park and UPHILL for the first half of the run.

  • Tuesday – First night of indoor tennis. Since I started back at work, I haven’t played at all. Glad to get a little exercise and meet up with friends.
  • Wednesday – Unfortunately I had to miss my STEM volunteering since I had dinner plans with my tennis friends.  I also had to work late so I had to skip my run.

always fun with these guys

  • Thursday – I discovered a walking trail near where I work so I don’t have to walk around the shopping mall.

Processed with Snapseed.

I met Alyssa and Barbara for a run after. It was warm (again!) but we had a pretty good run.

img_2145

Afterwards, I met a friend for dinner and drinks at an Irish pub.

img_2144

tart cheery hard cider, curry chicken salad & split the Guinness cheescake

  • Friday –  Since I skipped my run on Wednesday, I decided to run today.  Natalie agreed to accompany me.

Afterwards, I had my weekly mah jongg game.

  • Saturday –  Today I proctored the LSATs (where I used to work) for 7 1/2 hours. (I had thought it would be only 3 hours and I would have time to visit a former professor to help her on her computer but I did not have time so I postponed it until Sunday.)

no exercise but i finished knitting a sock snd read a great book.

In the evening I went to the movies with friends.

Image result for bridget jones's baby

so fun – really enjoyed it!

  • Sunday – Albany Booster Club Falcon 5K race. I had planned on another flatter course but got talked into this one by a friend. My friend did not show but it was still a fun race.  The weather was perfect. However my legs were more tired than I expected (from those 13.1 miles last weekend?) so this was one of my slowest 5ks this year.
img_2180

still won 1st in my age group

Afterwards I had planned to run more miles and make it my long run.  However, I had to go to a former professor’s house to help her with her computer. I had stuff to do around the home. I had to go grocery shopping, etc. So it didn’t happen.  I ran 1/2 mi to and from the race and 2 miles after.  6 miles for the day instead 11.  C’est la vie!

15.4 miles done with 4 runs and 3 rest days. (recovery week)

This Week:  

  • Monday Turkey Trot Training group run (3 miles)
  • Tuesday –  rest, tennis
  • Wednesday –  4 mile run with friends + volunteering with STEM group
  • Thursday –  rest, hair appt
  • Friday –  rest, mah jongg chez moi
  • Saturday – 5k race + 7 more
  • Sunday  boating?
Once again, I am linking up for the Weekly Wrap hosted by these wonderful bloggers Holly @ HoHoRuns and Tricia @ MissSippiPiddlin.   See rules here.
http://hohoruns.blogspot.com

Happy Running! How is your running going?  Any races?

runner-sig

19 thoughts on “Monday Running Update

  1. So glad you have a new trail to explore even on your short lunch hour. It does sound like your getting back into the swing of things during the day, huh?
    That looks like a fun movie! I can’t wait until this weekend when Deepwater Horizon with Mark Wahlberg comes out !

    Like

  2. Love the knitted sock!! I have knitted almost all of my life and have done a lot of original designs, etc……but have never attempted socks. It’s about time to dig out the needles and yarn stash and get to work 😉

    Like

  3. I love the fact you ran one of your slowest 5ks of the year and still placed 1st! That pretty trail will come in handy for weekday walks. I wondered if that movie would be good. I certainly liked the original movie and cast. I want to read Girl on the Train before watching the movie. I never did. Thanks for linking, Darlene!

    Like

Leave a Reply

