Wednesday Word: Irritable


Deb Runs

Every Wednesday, the Deb from Deb Runs will be providing a word about which to blog. Kind of like a nice little blog prompt. Posts can be fitness or health related, but don’t have to be, so really anyone can play along. Just be sure to link up with InLinkz on Deb’s main post, and share the love by reading and commenting on other’s participant’s posts.

This week’s word is: Irritable.

As a runner, what may make you IRRITABLE??

Here is the list of things that get me annoyed:

  • Being injured

Image result for injured runner ecard

There are those injuries where you CANNOT run such as a broken bone.

Image result for injured runner ecard
Then there are those injuries that you can run with but there is pain and you probably shouldn’t run. The trick is knowing when you can and when you shouldn’t.

  • Over or Under Dressed.

We have all been there.  It is colder than we thought or than the weatherman predicted.  But even worse for me is being overdressed.  We are sweating and want to rip our clothes off!!

Image result for ecards running clothes weather

  •  Bathroom Issues

No explanation needed.

That includes long port-a-potty lines before a race and not enough port-a-potties during a long race.

Image result for ecards running bathroom otty

  • GPS watch problems

That means not finding a signal or the battery dying.

We get so dependent on our timing devices. Even when some of my best races are when I don’t look at it.

Image result for ecards running gps watch

  • Races that are inaccurately marked.

I’ve run races that are short.  Grrr…

I also don’t want to look at my finish time for race and have to add “But the course was long…”

It happens but it is irritating.

  • Being hungry during a run or race.

I am that runner that needs carbs before and during a run or race.

It sucks when I start running and realize that I forgot my fuel.

Or I start a run and didn’t have enough to eat before I set out.

  • Not pushing hard enough during a race.

This actually makes me the most irritable.  I am competitive and I get disappointed when I don’t put forth my best effort.

These are the thoughts that go through my brain after a race:

Why did I start out so fast?

Why did I walk through all those water stops?

Did I have to walk so long while eating that GU?

Should I have walked (or run so slowly) up that hill?

Why did you give up on that race?

Is this the fastest I can run this course??

Don’t get me wrong.  For the most part, I love running or racing.  Even when occasionally some the things listed above do happen.

Hey, I run about 40 races a year!!

img_1757

Happy Running! What things make you irritable (as a runner)?

runner-sig

 

14 thoughts on “Wednesday Word: Irritable

  1. I forgot (!!!) to put my hair in a ponytail and to wear my hat on this morning’s run. I discovered an entirely new thing to be irritable about, in the form of wet hair plastered to my face and neck.

    Like

  2. ALLL of this! I am saying that for everything i read today LOL but it so true. Bathroom issues for sure, that may be the worst.
    My first half I had to stop and use a P-O-P and I hated that lost a few minutes on the time clock, I was irritable for a year over it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

