TOTR: 2016 Goals


Since today is Tuesday, I’m linking up with these wonderful ladies:

Erika @ MCM Mama Runs, Marcia @ Marcia’s Healthy Slice and Patty @ My no-guilt life for

Today’s Topic is: Remaining Goals for 2016

Well, for the first time in my running career, I didn’t set any goals.

I just listed some hopes (and dreams) for 2016:

  • To improve my running

I believe that I am a stronger and more confident runner.  I have run a lot of races both long and short.  And I have even attempted new ones and some hilly ones. Plus, I achieved a half marathon PR (bear with me if I keep repeating this…)

img_8800

the hilliest course I’ve ever run

What is left is to have more quality training runs.  Fewer garbage miles – you know the ones where you just walk/run/take photos and get it done. And to continue running well in races – not necessarily PRs but just decent finish times.

10k PR??

  • To run with others

I have improved in this department too. I ran with the Freihofer Training group in the spring and signed up with the Turkey Trot group recently.  With my schedule, it is easier to run solo.  But running with others is more fun.  Alyssa has become my new weekly partner.  I am lucky that Barbara has continued to accept my invitations.

img_2204

In the future, when there are no training groups, I should look for other opportunities to run with others such as Fleet Feet, ARE, etc.

  • To volunteer and give back

I volunteered with GOTR last spring and again, it failed to offer any satisfaction.  But running with the STEM clients is one that is so rewarding that I plan to volunteer with them each season.  

img_0148

I get to do this again on Nov 19.

My special needs buddy is still awesome. I need to post more often on FB to  connect with him more.  And to make time to see my mentee Amanda & her kids more often. I’ve been delinquent there.

img_9491

I haven’t seen them since May but I am planning a day together this Sat. It’s tough because she works on Sundays and some Saturdays.

  • To eat healthier

I am still addicted to carbs and sweets.  I can justify the carbs for running but I need to substitute more fruits and veggies into my diet. I do eat a banana almost every day and an apple for an evening snack.  But the problem is when I am out of the house  NO SELF CONTROL!

img_2261

And I rarely drink any water.  I use the water bottle on my desk to water my plants My Bad!!

  • To get physically on track

I still do not weigh myself but I know for a fact that the excess pounds have moved to an ugly place (my waist & butt).  My excuses have been that it is an age thing (Sorry, the meni pot is a fact.) But I think it is important for me to exercise (not just run and play tennis).  Sit less, walk more? Gym time? Planks? Yoga? Whatever it takes to look better.

img_0830

the last time I went to the gym was in July

I walked more during my last job because I had more time and a walking buddy.  I also had started going to the gym but I need to resume that.

  • To spend quality time with family and friends

Rather than skipping a run, I have been squeezing them in but there will be skipping involved soon.  And I realize that it’s ok.  Running is important but not more important than those I care about.  

img_2298

a run before cocktails

Happy Running! Any more goals for 2016 that you are still working on?
runner-sig

 

7 thoughts on “TOTR: 2016 Goals

  1. I’m with you on the water and sweets! I have got to be better about getting more of the first and less of the second. I love that quality time with friends and family is on your goal list 🙂

    Like

  2. You look great Darlene 🙂 I seem to be gaining weight in new places now, I do think it is just part of aging…but we have to enjoy life too.
    I just want broccoli to taste like cheesecake then all would be wonderful in my world.
    You’ve had a strong year! A half PR and many other great races 🙂

    Like

  3. I hear you on the redistribution of weight. Ugh. I see it happening before my eyes in exactly the places you mentioned. I’m right there with you on the sweets and lack of water too. Ooooh 45 days until PCM!

    Like

    • Can we stop it?? I guess I could exercise but I’m not sure that would help.

      And yes, I am counting down to meeting my favorite bloggers. Oh and running 13.1 sweaty miles LOL

      Like

Leave a Reply

