Monday Running Update


ru

Last Week:

  • Monday – The weather really warmed up. It felt like summer not fall.

Usual lunch walk

I returned to the Troy Turkey Training group after a week off.

The hills made this workout tough but I know that these speed drills are important.

  • Tuesday – It was even warmer today – a record high 85 degrees. I had to spend the day inside observing a training.

My view for 7 hours

At least I got in a walk at lunch.

I also played tennis that evening and went out to dinner after, as usual (shared a pizza).

  • Wednesday – We were still enjoying our abnormally warm weather. I was alone today for my run.  Alyssa and Natalie were unavailable and Barbara ran in the am. So I dragged myself through two laps of the campus or 6 miles before my STEM volunteer run. Since I would be busy on the weekend and next week, this could count as my long run.

  • Thursday – A rainy day. No lunch walk. But miraculously the rain stopped and I was able to run with Alyssa. 

Alyssa is that little orange dot. She continued for another UAlbany loop.

Unfortunately I have lost one of my running partners. Barbara fell and chipped a bone in her ankle and is out for 6 weeks. 😦

  • Friday – A well earned rest day. At least today I remember to bring an umbrella so I could take a walk at lunch.


I even skipped mah jongg to stay home and pack and relax.

  • Saturday – Today I had a planned day at Ellms Family Farms with my mentee and her two sons.  But the weather did not cooperate.  We postponed it until next Saturday.  Instead I went to the movies with friends. This is one of my all time favorite books and I was very excited when they made it into a movie.
Image result for a man called ove movie

Loved it!!!

 Then after the movie, I had to rush off to run a 5K race. (Luckily I picked up my bib earlier in the day since it was at a different place than the race.) I came sooo close to bailing on this race.  38 degrees. Windy. Pouring rain. But I ran it. And it was not fun!!

At least I won my age group. $25 LL Bean gift card

  • Sunday – Definitely a busy day.  I took the train with my 9 tennis friends to NYC.  We separated because I was having lunch with college friends, the ones whom I spent my junior year in France with. We have reunions every few years to reminisce.

Image result for cafe un deux trois nyc

    Where else would a bunch of French majors have brunch?

Then I met my tennis friends because we had tickets to a Broadway show.

Image result for waitress show

It was terrific!

2 people missing from the top pic and one on the bottom – ❤ my friends

17.5 miles done with 4 runs and 3 rest days.

This Week:

  • Monday – travel to NYC for work, squeeze in a run after arriving
  • Tuesday – NYC for work, squeeze in a run after work??
  • Wednesday – NYC for work, squeeze in a run after work?? or maybe a show??
  • Thursday – NYC for work, squeeze in a run after work??
  • Friday – NYC for work, travel home
  • Saturday – day at Ellms Family Farms with mentee
  • Sunday 9 mile run
Once again, I am linking up for the Weekly Wrap hosted by these wonderful bloggers Holly @ HoHoRuns and Tricia @ MissSippiPiddlin. See rules here.
http://hohoruns.blogspot.com

Happy Running! How is your running going? Any races?

runner-sig

14 thoughts on “Monday Running Update

  1. I started looking at the Ove book after you wrote about seeing the movie – sounds really interesting! Actually, Amazon led me down the path of all the books written by that author and now I want to read them all. 🙂

    Like

  2. Oh no! Poor Barbara. 😦

    We went to 3 movies on vacation and I watched another 2 on the plane. And a third one I’d downloaded from Amazon Prime (see how handy it is?) on the plane back home.

    I am planning 8 miles Sunday (I didn’t think you’d be here this weekend). 9 is probably too big a job after only running 6 miles total this week. 🙂

    Like

  3. We’ve taken in a few plays over the past few years and it leaves me wanting more! I would love to see a big production like this! I can only imagine what it would be like.
    You had a great week of activity, you do stay busy Darlene. I still say you are one tough cookie for not ditching that very cold and wet 5k!

    Like

Leave a Reply

