Wednesday Word: Esoteric


Deb Runs

Every Wednesday, the Deb from Deb Runs will be providing a word about which to blog. Kind of like a nice little blog prompt. Posts can be fitness or health related, but don’t have to be, so really anyone can play along. Just be sure to link up with InLinkz on Deb’s main post, and share the love by reading and commenting on other’s participant’s posts.

This week’s word is: Esoteric.

According to the dictionary, esoteric means:

intended for or likely to be understood by only a small number of people with a specialized knowledge or interest.

To my friends and family, running is esoteric.

I still have friends that say to me before a race: “Good luck.  I hope you win!” (And they don’t mean “age group.”

So how many of your non-running friends and family know what these terms mean?

  • Aid station
  • Age Group
  • Bandit
  • Bib
  • Black toenails
  • Bloody nipples
  • BOTP
  • BPM
  • BQ
  • Brick workout
  • Cadence
  • Carb-loading:
  • Chafing:
  • Chip
  • Chip Time
  • Clydesdale
  • Compression
  • Cooldown
  • Corral
  • DFL (Thanks Judy)
  • DNS
  • DNF
  • DOMS
  • Dreadmill
  • Dynamic Stretching
  • Elite
  • Endorphins
  • Fartlek
  • 5K
  • Foam Roller
  • Footstrike
  • Fuel
  • Galloway Method
  • Glycogen
  • Garmin
  • Gu
  • Hill repeats
  • Ice baths
  • IT Band
  • Interval training
  • K-Tape
  • Lactic Acid
  • Ladder
  • LSD (not the drug)
  • Masters
  • Negative splits
  • Newbie
  • Orthotics
  • Out-and-back
  • Overuse injury
  • Overpronation
  • Pace
  • PF
  • Pick-ups
  • Point-to Point (thanks Judy)
  • PR
  • RICE
  • Runner’s knee
  • Singlets
  • Speedwork
  • Splits
  • Static Stretching
  • Streaker
  • Strides
  • Supination
  • Tangents
  • Taper
  • Tempo Run
  • 10K
  • Ten percent rule
  • Trots
  • VO2 max
  • Warmup
  • The Wall

Image result for understanding running ecards

I’m also linking with Susie and Rachel and Debbie and Lora for the Running Coaches’ Corner.

Happy Running! Are your family and friends esoteric about running?  Can you think of any other terms to add to my list?

runner-sig

20 thoughts on “Wednesday Word: Esoteric

  1. Mr. Judy knows some of those terms, because, as you know, he reads my blog. Sometimes it’s how we communicate. 🙂

    There are also quite a few there he wouldn’t know.

    You missed point-to-point! And DFL. 🙂

    Like

  2. I only have running friends so they understand everything. 😉

    Not really, but my other friends are equally confused about knitting terms. Basically I speak several “foreign” languages, LOL.

    Like

  3. Great list of lingo there! I say LSR rather than LSD. I wonder if it’s an east v west sort of thing, ;D … and I think in the UK they like to say PB as opposed to PR. (LOL, ask for terms and ye shall receive, haha) 🙂

    Like

  4. Great list! We do have our own little language, don’t we? It seems to keep growing too. I have BO in the half too! (I didn’t know she even did a half or what her time was!) I hope I can one day BO in the marathon.

    Like

  5. Great list! I have a draft in the works with a lot of the well-known “running” words…and several acronyms of my own…..I just haven’t been able to finish it. Funny how we do have our own little language 😉

    Like

  6. Yes, we runners are esoteric and speak our own language! I was surprised when my boss joked that he would be a “Clydesdale” runner in our meeting today.

    Like

Leave a Reply

