Wednesday Word: Determination


WednesdayWordScrabbleButton

Every Wednesday, the Deb from Deb Runs will be providing a word about which to blog. Kind of like a nice little blog prompt. Posts can be fitness or health related, but don’t have to be, so really anyone can play along. Just be sure to link up with InLinkz on Deb’s main post, and share the love by reading and commenting on other’s participant’s posts.

This week’s word is: Determination.

Image result for determination quotes

This quote especially rings true after watching the NYC Marathon.

Anyone who finished possessed a hell of a lot of determination.

As they say:

Image result for determination quotes

Right now I don’t have that kind of determination. Maybe someday but likely not ever.

But I do know what it feels like to have the determination to do something that at one time seemed impossible.

  • Running my first race
  • Completing my first half marathon.
  • Finishing a race with an injury.
  • Coming back to running after an injury.

Happy Running! What have you been or are you “determined” to do?

runner-sig

 

12 thoughts on “Wednesday Word: Determination

    • I admit that it is sometimes tempting. I am pretty sure that I could finish if I tried. But reading about all the training and the long hours spent running, I’m not convinced that it is worth it for me. I would be giving up too much. I enjoy 5ks a lot.

      Liked by 1 person

        • Do you follow Barking Mad About Running? She is much slower than you. She finished in over 7 hours and is planning for run more marathons.

          It has nothing to do with pace. I think I could finish under 5 hours but do I want to train for 4 months? It takes over your life. Also my hubby would never travel to a race or wait around for hours and hours. And I wouldn’t ask him to.

          We are all different. I think I’ll continue my 5ks and occasional half.

          Liked by 1 person

            • I Know. I suffer from FOMO.

              But I have to limit my halfs now that I don’t get much time off – that means very little travel and staying local. Luckily we have a lot of local shorter races to keep me busy.

              Liked by 1 person

  1. My big determination with this current marathon training has been to be injury-free. For the most part, it’s been a success. I’ve also had to learn to do the mandatory stretching, warm-ups, and foam rolling (before and after each run).

    Like

Leave a Reply

