Veteran’s Day Dash 5k Race Recap


This was a new race for me.  I usually work on Veteran’s Day.  But now I have the day off and Holly & Jackie from my running group recommended it.

They said that the course though boring, was pretty flat.  Perfect, I needed to do one more run before Sunday’s 15k race, anyway.

The race started at 10 am.  I actually could sleep in.  The temps were in the 50s too and it seemed like a perfect running day.

But I was wrong.  It was very windy – 20 mph winds and the temps were dropping.  It felt like it was in the 30’s.

The race was held at a high school and it started on the track.

img_3054

There was lots of parking and even real bathrooms. I picked up my bib and shirt and returned to my car to stay warm.

img_3055

long sleeved and cotton – now I have another throw-away shirt LOL

Eventually I had to venture out to start the race.  There were almost 400 racers (many high school boys wearing speedos!!)  I decided not to wear my jacket and left it near the start.

img_3056

I found several friends including Gary, fellow blogger Christine and Holly.  We started together and toward the front (since it wasn’t chip timed). They were all faster than me so I decided to use them as pacers.

The race started by running around the track and then onto the roads of the campus.  This is a huge campus so though the scenery was not very exciting, you didn’t have to worry about traffic.

vdd-course

As much as I could, I tried to run the tangents and keep my speedy friends in my view.  It felt somewhat like a horse race but I was always bringing up the rear.  Holly was way ahead for the first 2 miles.  Then came Christine followed by Gary. As Holly’s pace slowed, Christine took the lead. As we headed toward the home stretch (the track again), Gary passed Holly and then he passed Christine.  I was still in last place but gaining on Holly.

As soon as I saw the finish line, I put it in high gear and passed Holly. 🙂

vdd5k

I should mention a few other things about my race.  My shoe was untied most of it.  But I didn’t want to stop and lose time. So I just ran making sure the whole time that I didn’t trip.  I was glad that I didn’t wear my jacket, I wasn’t cold (until I finished.) I felt nauseous and out of breath the second half of the race.  In fact, I felt like throwing up approaching the finish line. (As soon as I finished, I felt fine).

I’d be lying if PR thoughts didn’t enter my head.  This was my last real chance this year.  But it wasn’t meant to be.

I grabbed the jacket that I had left on the table and went to find food – there were  cookies, bagels, fruit and chocolate milk and I enjoyed all of it (but craved something WARM.)

Then I found Christine and Holly and we hung out waiting for the raffle prizes and the awards. I wished that I had pants, a warmer coat and gloves.  I was freezing!!!

I didn’t win any raffle prizes but I did win first place in my age group. I told Holly that if I had tried to keep up with in the early miles, I would have crashed and burned.  Someday I will PR…. (under 27:11)

vdd

The top three won beer glasses but only the first place winner also got a $10 gift card to Fleet Feet. I hope Holly is still my friend. LOL.

14976488_773584866112521_935004535777035098_o

she looks happy, right?

img_3060

So I ran my second 5k in one week.  (Yes, I am supposedly training for a 15k this Sunday and a half marathon on Dec. 3 …)

Splits:

mile 1: 9:01
mile 2: 9:12
mile 3: 9:05
      .1:  6:50

Garmin time: 27:43
Gun time: 27:51 (Holly & I both thought we crossed at 27:4x)

I plan to rest up until Sunday when I run the Stockade-athon 15K.

Happy Running!  Anyone run or race on Veteran’s Day?

runner-sig

25 thoughts on “Veteran’s Day Dash 5k Race Recap

  1. No racing today and I haven’t run yet this week. I hope to run tomorrow or Sunday.
    Good luck on your race this weekend and congrats on placing today !

    Like

  2. The more you run, the fewer PRs there will be. Unless you’re on drugs, of course. 🙂

    Sounds like you ran a good race. I’ll be heading out soon to run some errands and pick up my packet. Now if I can only remember where the heck I parked my car last year, it was a good spot . . .

    Like

Leave a Reply

