Wednesday Word: Hullabaloo


WednesdayWordScrabbleButton

Every Wednesday, the Deb from Deb Runs will be providing a word about which to blog. Kind of like a nice little blog prompt. Posts can be fitness or health related, but don’t have to be, so really anyone can play along. Just be sure to link up with InLinkz on Deb’s main post, and share the love by reading and commenting on other’s participant’s posts.

This week’s word is: Hullabaloo

I am sure that I am the only one who remembers this TV show

The simple definition of Hullabaloo is “a very noisy and confused situation.”

For the most part, I do NOT like big, noisy, crowded races. You won’t see me at a Color Run, a Tough Mudder, a Warrior Dash, an Inflatable Race or other such races.

Image result for color run

I’d be happier if I had a PR.

I know that they are fun but for me, if I am spending money on a race, I want to actually be able to “race.”

I have never run a Disney race or the likes of the Chicago, Boston or NYC marathons. I have run a few crowded races however 10,000 runners is probably the largest for me.  In addition to all the Hullabaloo, there is so much excitement in the air and it is very addicting.

The RNR Brooklyn Half (pic on the left below) was not well organized (so not so much fun) but the Dash to the Finish was. Guess which one, I repeated?

My favorite races have been smaller ones (under 1500 runners).  A more personal feel, easier to access, more of chance for an AG award, etc.  Less Hullabaloo!!!

I recommend that everyone experience a BIG, crowded, noisy race.  Then make your own decision.

Remember I suffer from FOMO so you may see me registering for a race…big or small… calm or with Hullabaloo

Happy Running! What kind of races do you prefer? Small ones or ones with “hullabaloo”?

runner-sig

 

15 thoughts on “Wednesday Word: Hullabaloo

    • which is why, I like to travel alone. I can pick whatever race I want. The weekend in NYC was crazy trying to please everyone. This may sound strange since I like doing things with my friends too.

      Liked by 1 person

        • I guess it’s that my friends are not runners (at least most are not.) Racing complicates things. Like the night before the 5k, I had vegan food rather than my preferred pizza and went to bed very very late. I realized that I had to be flexible and forget about what I would normally do.

          But having taken so many vacations with many friends, I’m used to it.

          Liked by 1 person

          • Hey, it was just a 5k. I wasn’t much worried about what I ate (and I didn’t eat what I normally eat either).

            Going to bed really late? That would definitely have bothered me! Although I suspect I’ll be doing that in FL. Really late for me is 10 pm, LOL!

            Like

            • That’s why I went along with the eating. If it were a half and you’re with friends, you still have to be agreeable. We went to bed after midnight each night. One night we talked until 2 am.

              Liked by 1 person

                • Oh I believe you. My first half was with my hubby. He’s pretty easy cuz he lets me do all the planning and just goes with the flow. It is still stressful making sure he has a good time and it’s not just all about me. (Now I just leave him home and he is happy with that).

                  As you know, every runner has different habits but I know it will be a fun time. I just hope the weather cooperates – dry cool race with warmth and sunshine for the beach!!

                  Liked by 1 person

  1. Having been on both sides of the hullabaloo, I prefer smaller events as a whole…with a couple of bigger ones thrown in for good measure. I would have to think really hard to do another as big as Chicago. But, never say never. PCB should be pretty low on the hullabaloo scale.

    Like

  2. I like both small and grandiose events, but for different reasons. I do probably prefer the “moderate” events. I like the grand stuff at the big events, and the home-town feel of the smaller ones and with the medium-sized venues you get a taste of both.

    Like

Leave a Reply

