TOTR: What I learned in 2016


Since today is Tuesday, I’m linking up with these wonderful ladies:

Erika @ MCM Mama Runs, Marcia @ Marcia’s Healthy Slice and Patty @ My no-guilt life for

Today’s Topic is: Tell us something new you learned about running in 2016

Well, I learned a few things.

  • Carpe Diem

Yes, Seize the Day.  I got spoiled with the amount of time off (and the salary) that was afforded me with my last job.

I am glad that I took those race-cations because they won’t be as frequent in the future.

You have to take advantage of those opportunities because you don’t know when they will disappear.  (This applies to good health as well as free time.)

  • I can still get faster.

That 5k PR still stands from 2014 but I shocked myself with a half marathon PR.  So I’m not giving up the idea of getting one for the 5k, 10k and 15k …YET.

img_2319

  • Running is better with others.

It is easier to schedule your running when you run alone. I did that for most of my week day runs last year. However, you run better/faster if you run with someone else and it’s more enjoyable so you may run longer.

I guess that’s why I race so much but this year, in addition to Judy, I have found two more running partners.

img_2276

Thanks Alyssa and Barbara

Happy Running! What did you learn about running this past year?

runner-sig

12 thoughts on “TOTR: What I learned in 2016

  1. Great point about taking advantage of opportunities now! I hadn’t thought of it that way but it’s so true. I seem to run better with others too. I try to do that for my weekend long runs most of the time but I haven’t been able to manage it for weekday runs in a while.

    Like

  2. Hmm. 2016 has been more about emotional health in the midst of challenges for me than running, in all honesty – and sometimes, that meant I had to DNS or just give myself a break from feeling like i NEEDED to do everything. I’ve kept running, but have tried hard to not get too down on myself when I just didn’t feel like getting out there.

    Like

  3. Great lessons! I can totally relate to carpe diem. I try to do things at my first opportunity vs procrastinate or hope for a chance to come up again. Because more often than not the first chance is the only chance!

    Like

Leave a Reply

