Friday Five 2.0 – 2017


I am linking up with Running on Happy & Fairytales and Fitness for the Friday Five 2.0 linkup!
Join in! Don’t forget to link back to your hostesses and visit some other bloggers.

This week, the theme is your goals, resolutions, or other things you’re looking forward to in the new year!

Well, since I don’t set any goals, I’ll post about what I’m looking forward to in 2017.

1. Running Healthy.

I have been lucky to have no injuries since 2013.  So I hope this trend continues.  I think the key is to not overdo and take your rest days.

untitled

img_86152. Destination Races.

I love to travel but working doesn’t allow me to do it as often as I’d like.  So I really appreciate any opportunity I get.  Of course, I try to tie each trip into a half marathon.

Sarasota Music Half - Feb

So far, I only have one big one planned for 2017. I will running this race alone but plan to meet up with a few non-running friends.

Image result for treasure coast half

March 5, 2017 in Stuart, FL.

 

I hope to get in another destination race in the late fall too.

3. Annual Tennis Vacation.

A group of 10 of us have been traveling together since 2002.  And we have been going to Naples, FL for a week in May since 2006. We even rent the same two villas.

img_9887

Every morning we take tennis lessons and then play doubles.  In the afternoon, we go to the beach.  And then in the evenings, we go out.  Tough life!

img_9732-1

4. Girls Racing Weekends.

My first one was in Philly in 2014.  It was fun but last December’s was even more fun.

20140331-090910.jpg

walks on the beach

I have one planned for April 30 in NYC to run the Shape Women’s Half Marathon and another for October 1 to run the Wineglass Half Marathon in Corning, NY. (Anyone else running these races??)

Fingers crossed that we can fit in a blogger’s weekend again with the #holottafun ladies.

5. Time with Family and Friends.

Ultimately this is the most important. I plan to spend a lot time with them. I know I can schedule my runs and races around those gatherings.

img_3585

12038295_10154200672904428_74479307881338828_n

Happy Running! What are you looking forward to in 2017?

runner-sig

19 thoughts on “Friday Five 2.0 – 2017

  1. March will be here before you know it 🙂 I sure hope we can meet up somewhere along the way!
    I have a 15K in a few weeks and I’ve barely run LOL and half in February – so hopefully I’ll be running more soon!

    Like

  2. We are entering our racecation season, starting next week. Of course, we’re staying in Texas, but it’s still great fun to travel and race with friends, as you well know. 🙂

    Like

  3. My friend and I have been coveting Wineglass for the last couple years but by the time we get our acts together and want to register it’s been sold out. One of these years we’ll make it. I look forward to your recap in a few months!

    Like

  4. I’d love to have a girls weekend (with a race involved, of course). Once I get this groin thing “over & done,” I’m hoping for an injury-free year as well. I’m not training for any specific finish times this year, so I plan to take things easy and extra rest days if need be.

    Like

Leave a Reply

