Friday Five 2.0: Fitness Trends


It’s Friday and I’m linking up with Running on Happy & Fairytales and Fitness for the Friday Five 2.0 linkup!
Join in! Don’t forget to link back to your hostesses and visit some other bloggers.

This week, the topic is: Fitness Trends

Well, I tried to think of one that I do participate in but I could not.

I guess I am a pretty traditional runner.

So  here are FIVE trends that I will most likely never participate in:

1. Ragnar Races

Image result for Ragnar races

I know that they are popular and everyone says that they are so much fun.  But…

  • I don’t want to run at night…by myself
  • I don’t enjoy sleeping in a van or a tent
  • I don’t think my body can handle all that mileage in one weekend

2. Challenges

Image result for planking challenge

They always seem like a good idea but I have a hard time motivating myself to run a few times a week never mind running or planking EVERYDAY!!

3. Color or Themed Runs 

Image result for color run

I am a competitive person by nature and when I run a race, I want to do my best.  I know it sounds like fun to have color or foam thrown at you, but it’s just not something I want to pay to do.

4. Warrior or Spartan Races

Image result for warrior dash

I am way too old and too clumsy to do one of these races.  I know for sure that I would get injured.  Plus I am sure that I could not climb the wall, jump over fire and complete most of the obstacles.

5. Virtual Races

Image result for virtual races

I know that it’s fun to get the bling.  Plus they raise money for great causes.  But if I spend the money, I want to compete in a race with other runners.  What I enjoy most at a race is the competition and the camaraderie among the runners.

Happy Running? Which trends do you participate in?  Are there any that you would not?

runner-sig

15 thoughts on “Friday Five 2.0: Fitness Trends

  1. I don’t think I could fit tights on under my skirts, but I know other people do it too. If I size up, then they’re more likely not to stay put.

    Have you tried Rachel’s hack of using deodorant on your feet to prevent blisters? I’m filing that away in case it every starts to be a problem.

    Have a good trip & race!

    Like

    • I like my skirts flarer that you do. I do not like when things are snug.
      I want to wear my skirts for all seasons.

      Actually I have and it doesn’t work for me. I just use moleskin. It’s because I have bunions.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Great tips! I’ve been using water bottles from the freezer for my feet and that works pretty well too for people who don’t have tennis balls around 🙂 I’ve definitely got to work on running tangents better!

    Like

  3. I should work harder at running the tangents – my last half marathon was more than a quarter mile long!

    I always wear capris under my running skirts…it’s nice because you can use the pair of capris that you like best, not just the pair that happens to be attached to the skirt.

    Hope you have a great race this weekend!

    Like

  4. Great hacks! I may try the race bib one this weekend. I have the Race Dots magnets, but they take a while to get on straight. I use lacrosse balls for a foot massage, but same idea!

    Like

  5. I’ve done Ragnar – it’s fun if you’re with the right people! I have absolutely no interest in doing a color run though. Let me know which virtual runs you like! I haven’t seen too many that are not-for-profits, so I’d be curious to participate in one of that style!

    Like

  6. I really do want to do Ragnar. But if I do one I think I would opt for trail so there’s no van or moving around. Just camping and relaxing while you’re not running. 🙂 I could do without the color and OCRs though.

    Like

  7. I agree with every single one of these, although I have run a few virtual races. One because it was a Boston Run to raise money for victims and since my sister ran the actually Boston marathon that year I thought it was important, and the others were complimentary races. I can’t believe how expensive virtual races have become!

    Like

  8. I’ve done one Color Run…and it will never happen again unless I have a HUGE tribe of gal pals with me. Totally annoying experience with too many walkers and lots of little kids running in circles LOL

    Like

Leave a Reply

