Running Update: 4.17.17-4.23.17


ru

Last Week:

  • Monday – Today was a hellish day. A good friend’s 23 year son took his own life and I went to a memorial service.  Then my MIL had a mini stroke and ended up in the hospital. Thank God, it was week 5 of the Freihofer Challenge Group run and I could clear my head with a run and friends. The plan tonight was warm-up, 6-8 400m sprints at 5k pace, 200m recovery, cool down.  The weather was perfect though a little too windy.  Patrick said I got the consistently award for running all 6 sprints at 1:53 (We quit after 6 repeats.)

notice that our coach is wearing Skirt Sports.

Afterwards I met my BFF at the mall for a walk and a chat.

  • Tuesday – After setting up for Wednesday’s training, I ran  some miles at UAlbany. Another perfect weather day.

  • Wednesday – A scheduled rest day after a long tough day at work, followed by a stop at the gym after work.

It was also my day for volunteering with the STEM runners –  Couch to 5k and being week 2 and day 2, we only ran for 1 1/2 minutes and walked for 2 minutes. It was fun and so rewarding to work with these new runners even in the damp cold drizzling weather.

  • Thursday – Today Alyssa and I decided to run on the Nisky Bike Path since Alyssa had the day off and lives nearby.  I joined her for the first 6 of her 13 mile run. Another run trying to beat the rain. And we did.

  • Friday – I had planned a quick run before mah jongg but it was raining so I went to the gym to use the machines instead. Of course, the rain had stopped by the time I was done but I lost my mojo.
  • Saturday – A scheduled rest day. I got a lot done around the house. Then I went to the movies with friends…

it was excellent!!

followed by dinner out.

  • Sunday – Today I ran the Lake George 5k.  I’ve run it before so the uphill was no surprise. The weather couldn’t have been nicer. The race felt effortless and I even won my age group.

Not a PR but a decent 27:53 finish

Afterward, I ran 4 more miles on a nearby bike path …

Uphill on the way out but a delightful downhill back

and then drove up to our marina and ran 2 more miles. I felt strong enough to run more but I had plans for lunch with a friend.

Mimosa and feta shrimp tomato omelet with corn bread & fresh fruit salad

 1 more week to go!! Taper time!

23 miles done with 4 runs and 3 rest days

This Week:

  • Monday – FRW Training Group Run (3-4 miles),
  • Tuesday – 3 miles, tennis
  • Wednesday – gym, STEM group run (week 3 day 2 of Couch to 5k)
  • Thursday – 6 miles with Alyssa
  • Friday – rest day, mah jongg
  • Saturday – drive/train to NYC, packet pick up, etc.
  • Sunday Shape Women’s Half Marathon

Once again, I am linking up for the Weekly Wrap hosted by these wonderful bloggers Holly @ HoHoRuns and Tricia @ MissSippiPiddlin. See rules here.

http://hohoruns.blogspot.com

Happy Running! How is your running going? How is your running weather?

runner-sig

22 thoughts on “Running Update: 4.17.17-4.23.17

  1. I really do think you’re going to surprise yourself at your Half. They may be interrupted, but you’re getting the miles in, you’re doing speed work, you’re actually doing some strength training, and you’re tackling hills. You’re ready.

    I’m very sorry for your friend’s loss. I can’t even imagine.

    I’m reading the Zookeepers Wife, but it’s actually really slow going. It’s interesting, but not exactly a page turner. The movie looks incredible, though!

    Like

    • I’m not worried. It’s for fun. I may even be running with a STEM runner and she’s very very slow. I hope to return and run the NYC half for real.

      The movie is very sad but good.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sorry about your friend’s son. That’s so sad. You’re so good about getting in the extra miles post race. I’ve done that a few times and it’s definitely a challenge. Congrats on snagging another AG win!

    Like

    • it is a challenge to motivate yourself to get back out there. It’s still not the same as a long run but it is more fun. We’ll see how tired the legs feel during this weekend’s 13.1.

      Like

  3. I’m sorry to hear about the tough start of last week. I hope your MIL is feeling better.

    Congrats on your AG win! Great runs this past week. I’ve been trying to beat the rain on my last couple of runs and was lucky to have a dry race on Sunday!

    Like

  4. I am glad your week ended better than it started- I hope everyone is well! Congrats on that age group win- you know the young ladies age group! 🙂

    Like

  5. You had a fabulous day for a race” congrats on winning your AG.
    So sorry to hear about your friend’s son. I never know what to say in situations like that because I couldn’t even begin to know what that would be like. Two of my neighbor’s passed away last week and I don’t know what to say there either.

    I hope your MIL is doing well.

    Like

  6. Wow. What a horrific Monday. So sad for your friend, and I hope your MIL is okay. On the up side, you’re amazing with that STEM group. Total respect. If I don’t get the chance, have fun and good luck this weekend!

    Like

  7. Girl, you are putting in some miles! Running a few extra after a sub 28 5k is pretty impressive! I love that you are working with the STEM runners. That seems like it would be so rewarding. I’ll have to see if we have anything like that around here, I would enjoy that. Good luck on your race!

    Like

  8. Monday sounds like a very trying day. My heart goes out to your friend. That is so sad. I hope your MIL is doing OK too.

    You are a running machine! Congrats on the age group win. Good luck with your half marathon this weekend. I have a feeling you’ll crush it! Thanks for linking, Darlene!

    Like

Leave a Reply

