TOTR: April Report Card


Image result for bye april
So spring finally did arrive. Although it did waver back and forth throughout most of the month.

Here’s how April turned out:

Weekday Runs:

Although we had quite a bit of rain. I was able to run at least 3 times outdoors each week which is great because I do not have a treadmill at home.

I ran at UAlbany (near work), at the Crossings, near home, in a local park and even at the Corning Bike Path.

The good news is that it stays light out longer so I don’t have to run in the dark and can run longer after work. Since the snow has melted, I also have more choices of places to run.

I ran alone some of the time. But Alyssa was able to accompany me once a week.  It’s definitely more fun running with friends.

I continued to attend the Monday sessions of the Freihofer Run for Women Training Challenge. Coach Patrick put us through those speed drills that I normally would never attempt on my own.

I also started my volunteering stint with the STEM runners this month. The clients run three time each week.  I attended two Wednesday sessions.  May will be our big month since the race is in early June.

Long Runs:

I will end the month with a half marathon and so I tried to squeeze in some miles on the weekends to prepare for it. There were no uninterrupted long runs so my training definitely was lacking.

Total Mileage:

I ran 102 miles this month. I am pleased since I increased my mileage from last month (thanks to running a half this month) and it’s my highest mileage in a long time.

April Miles

Races:

I had five races on my schedule this month – two 5ks, a 8k and a half marathon but I DNSed on one (a 5 miler)

I was sad that a backache forced me to DNS at the Delmar Dash (one of my favorite local races). However, I was generally happy with how the other races went. The Bacon Hill 5k was cold and windy which helped me run fast. The Code Blue race was quite hilly and my first 8k. I really enjoyed this race and did better than I expected. The Lake George 5k was also hilly but one of the most scenic places to run and I won my age group. The Shape Half was one of my toughest halfs to date but I finished so I was very pleased and the weekend in NYC was fun.

Did not expect any PRs and I didn’t get them.

Cross Training:

I still play tennis (indoors, of course.) I am scheduled to play two Tuesdays a month but with work and other stuff, I only played once this month.

I did go to work out at the gym several times. My goal was twice a week, though. I didn’t quite achieve that.

I did walk several times a week at lunch for 30 minutes – around the outdoor shopping mall. Not everyday like I used. But more often since the weather has cooperated.

Other News:

I’ve gone out to dinner quite a few times with different friends (maybe too many times LOL). It seems to be how we make time to catch up when our lives are so busy. You have to eat, right?

I also got to hear the amazing Supreme Court Justice Sonia Sotomayor speak.

Running is not my whole life. I think it is important to make time for other things that bring you pleasure.

Feeling healthy so Life Is Good.

Looking Ahead:

My next half marathon is May 21 in Adams, Mass. It is flat and on the same course as my PR (Ramblefest in October).

My annual tennis vacation in Naples, Fla is coming up. Lots of girl-time scheduled.

And it’s my BIRTHDAY month!! (May 9)

I have quite a few races planned. My race season just kicked into high gear.

This is my list so far for the next 2 months:

(tennis trip to Florida 5/3-5/10)

  • 5-6-17 – Tropicool 5k (in FL)?
  • 5-13-17 – Summer Smith Memorial 5k
  • 5-14-17 – Mother’s Day 5K?
  • 5-18-17 – Workforce Challenge (3.5m)
  • 5-21-17 – Steel Rail Half Marathon
  • 6-03-17 – Freihofer’s Run for Women 5k
  • 6-11-17 – Run for Hope (volunteer with STEM) or Betar Byway 5k & Moreau Mile??
  • 6-17-17 – Run for the Ages 5k* or Good Karma 5k*??
  • 6-25-17 – Adirondack Distance Run

I am linking to Deb at DebRuns for her April Race Linkup:

Deb Runs

No monthly goals.

This motto worked for 2016 so I’m sticking with it in 2017!


Since today is Tuesday, I’m also linking up with these wonderful ladies:

Erika @ MCM Mama Runs, Marcia @ Marcia’s Healthy Slice and Patty @ My no-guilt life for

Today’s Topic is: Give your running month a letter grade.

I’d say overall an A-. I think that I improved from last month – more miles, some drills, some gym time. Still room to grow.

What do you think?

Happy Running! How did your April turn out? Anything exciting planned for May? What grade would you give your running month?

runner-sig

22 thoughts on “TOTR: April Report Card

  1. Longer days definitely makes things easier (and no snow!). There are more places to run again, too, which is nice.

    Good luck on all your races. I think it’s going to be a year of big races for me, not so much the smaller ones, apparently.

    Like

  2. Hi Darlene, I have been following your blog for over a year now. My goal is to run a 5k in every day. I am from a northwest suburb of Chicago and have completed (soon to be 14 of our great states). As you can imagine, now it is getting expensive with travel and hotels. I have a trade idea for you….I would love to do the Friehofers run in Albany, NY but the flight is super expensive and I think I would have to rent a car…..the list goes on. Do you ever “host” guest out of towners for races?? I would then return the favor should you ever want to do a Chicago Shamrock Shuffle or a rock and roll Chicago (which I am doing this summer with my daughter). Super long shot asking….but if you don’t ask – you’ll never know! I enjoy the blog – you are quite inspirational. I am a 52 year old, married, mom of two awesome young adults.

    Like

  3. It sounds like a great month! I definitely agree that the lighter mornings and evenings have made it easier to get those weekday runs in. And balance is so important! That’s great that you got all those fun things in during April. I hope it’s a great birthday month coming up 🙂

    Like

  4. yay for the longer days (both in the morning and after work). Our daughter’s tennis season is in full swing (no pun intended), and I’m getting the itch to join her. I don’t think there are any tennis leagues in my town, so it would just be playing on my own with whomever will join me. Other than my endurance for running, I’m not blessed with too many athletic skills…but I always did well with racket sports.

    Like

Leave a Reply

