TOLT: Half Marathons. What else?


Since it is Thursday, I’m linking up today with Amanda for Thinking Out Loud Thursday.

thinking out loud

Here’s what I’m thinking about today:

My Last Half Marathon.

If you read my race post, you know that it was a difficult race for me.  Some things were out of my control but as I prepare for my next one, I am also thinking about things I can control.

Things you cannot control:

  • Weather – temperature, wind, humidity, etc.
  • Course – hills, loops, etc.
  • Injuries – unforeseen
  • Porta Potty stops

Things you can control:

  • Clothing – do not wear new items
  • Training – doing the work (drills, long runs, etc.)
  • Food – before and during
  • Pacing (don’t go out too fast)

Things you could control but can’t:

  • Clothing – when you have to wear a new item (for many reasons)
  • Training – when work, family, illness, vacation interrupts your training
  • Food – when you cannot eat what you want to eat (for whatever reason)
  • Pacing – when you run with a slower friend or with an injury or lack of training

The important point to remember and I have to remind myself of this often is that even if things go wrong and you don’t have the race that you want for a variety of reasons (things that you can or cannot control), you still can enjoy the experience and be proud of what you’ve accomplished.

My Next Half Marathon.

I’d love to say that I learned from all my recent pre-race snafus. But not quite.  I think I have the outfit and pre-race meal under control.  We’ll see about the weather.  And the course is pretty flat.

Image result for steel rail half

mostly on the bike path

But my training is even worse.  I missed my 12 mile run while on vacation in Florida. I ran a rushed 5k and spent the rest of the day like this: driving to Cape Haze, lunch on the river, driving to Fort Myers, visiting the Ford & Edison Winter Estates, dinner & drinks during sunset at the Ritz back in Naples.

And I don’t regret it.

The next weekend, I ran a special 5K and skipped the extra miles due to the rain. Then spent the afternoon with my mentee and her sons.

So what could have maybe been a half marathon PR most likely will not be. (Remember this same course was my half PR back in October.)

2:08:59 – PR!!!!!

Again.  Finishing=Winning.  That is my goal.

I am not that runner who puts in the work.  I am that runner who has a non-running life that often takes precedence. C’est la vie!

love my friends

 

and the hubs too

Happy Running! What’s going in your life?  Please share.  Are you serious about your half marathon times?

10 thoughts on “TOLT: Half Marathons. What else?

  1. Well you know I’m not serious about running times, but I do like/hope to enjoy the race. And while I do love to run, it’s just part of my life – it’s good to do other things as well…although your day after your 5K has me exhausted, LOL! Good luck on your race this weekend – I do hope you have a great time, regardless of your actual finish time. 🙂

    Like

  2. Running is one of the many things I enjoy doing, but certainly not the only one, so it doesn’t always take priority. I do have to remember that when setting race goals!

    Like

  3. I’ve only ever wanted to go out and just enjoy the race, not worry about time. This year though I have to focus on time so I can make a decent showing at MCM. I’m hoping to PR across the board this year. I have to actually, or the sweeper will snatch me up.

    Like

Leave a Reply

