Hardest Long Run Ever


longrun

Because my weekend was so busy, I took today off from work to get in my last long run.

Little did I know that I would be SICK!!

I got little sleep last night – headache, sore throat, congested… the cold medicine did zilch!

So I woke up feeling like I got hit by a freight train.  I really wanted to stay in bed not run.

What would any runner do…

Get out of bed and get ready to run.

The weather was the motivator – it was warm and sunny!  I was hoping it would make me feel better.

20130930-180816.jpg

I decided to go to the Nisky Bike Path – it’s flat and scenic, there are restrooms, bikers & runners… a great place to do a long run.

I had some water and a gel and set out for 4 miles and then looped back to my car for more water.  I did bring a gel with me (and lots of tissues.)

20130930-180742.jpg

It was warmer than I thought and I felt worse that I thought. So I just trudged along…running…walking…running.

20130930-180808.jpg

I really wished I had brought water.     The good news is that nothing hurt.  I just had no energy…my back ached..my legs ached…worse than any half marathon I ever have run.

After 8 miles, I refueled at my car and then headed 2 miles in the other direction and then turned around.

I got the 12 miles done!  I didn’t die!  My time was slower than most of my halfs.

I’m not going to get too depressed.  I attribute my disastrous performance to the heat, not enough hydration, most of all my cold.

yes, please

If I could drag myself through 12 miles today, I guess I can drag myself through 1.1 more! (Hopefully it won’t feel this bad in 2 weeks!!)

Happy Running!  Have you ever experienced a terrible long training run?

runner-sig

 

4 thoughts on “Hardest Long Run Ever

  1. Oh, you poor thing. It must be awful running with a cold! Good for you for pushing through. My 11 miler two weeks back was pretty tough. I don’t know what was wrong with me, but I was slogging along, miserable. I figure that means I’ll have an amazing 12 mile run 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.