Me and the Treadmill


I do NOT look like this!

I do NOT look like this!

I saw this on Run with Jess’ blog last week (she got it from Marcia’s Healthy Slice) and couldn’t resist answering.

I don’t own a (working) treadmill and I don’t belong to a gym. There is one where I work behind the curtains on the stage in the gym.  No windows, dark, dreary….

I really hate the treadmill.  But I use it when I have no choice:

  • raining outside
  • no time after work (and I squeeze it in during lunch)
  • after a broken bone, when I am only allowed to run on the TM

That being said, here are my answers:

1. What’s your favorite workout to do on a treadmill?  

I use a basic slow speed and when I am bored, I pick up the speed for awhile and then slow down.

2. How many miles, on average, do you run on the mill each week?

Usually 0-3.  Sometimes  up to 4. It depends how much time I have.

3. What was the most mileage you’ve ever completed on the mill in one workout? When? Why?

I think a few years ago, I did 6.  It was on the weekend and I needed to do a longer run.

4. Do you mill at home, the gym or both?  

At work. It’s convenient.  No one else uses it.  If I didn’t have one at work, I would buy one.

5. What distractions or entertainment (if any) do you use to help pass the time? 

I always watch TV shows on my iPad.

6. If you have a treadmill at home, what kind is it? How old is it? 

I have an old non-working one.

7. Do you fuel any differently for a treadmill workout than an outside one?

I drink more water.  It is easy to reach and I get thirstier

8. Any treadmill mishaps to report? 

Not yet.

9. Do you mill at incline to compensate for not being outside?

Nope.

10. Describe your perfect (if there is such an animal) treadmill conditions:

Not too warm.  A window with a view of the ocean. A large tv with one of my favorite shows on (and no commercials.)

dreadmill

The Good Wife is on the screen probably

 Happy Running!  Do you run on the treadmill?  Feel free to share any answers to the questions above.

runner-sig

One thought on “Me and the Treadmill

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.