I guess I’m “inspiring”


I’ve been tagged by Tiffany @ The Chi-Athlete.  Thanks Tiffany.

The Rules:

  • Thank and link to the person who nominated you.
  • List the rules and display the award.
  • Share seven facts about yourself.
  • Nominate 15 other blogs you enjoy, then comment on their posts to let them know that you have nominated them.

I have been blogging for a while so if you read my blog, you probably know everything about me already but if you are new, here are
Seven Things About Me:

1. I started running in April 2008 at the age of 55!! Since then I have run 124 races.  In January 2011, I ran my first of 9 half marathons.

my first half in Naples, Fla.

sshm4b

my 9th in Saratoga, NY

2. Second to running is my love for tennis.  I started playing seriously about 15 years ago.  The best thing about tennis is the friends that I have made.  Now we do lots of things together that doesn’t even involve playing tennis.

group photo with our instructor Billy Bob

at a Broadway show

3.  My first profession was that of a French teacher.  I did that for 22 years.  I spent my junior year of college in Nice, France.  I love anything and everything French – art (Monet), music (Celine Dion), food (pain au chocolat), drinks (kir), cafe au lait, Les Miz, etc.

4.  I play mah jongg once a week with a great group of ladies.  My favorite game, however,  is still Scrabble.

playing mah jongg by the Schroon River

5.  I love to travel.  I would do it more if I had the time and the money.  I have been to most countries in Europe (except Ireland) & Israel, Greece & Russia.  China and an African safari are on my bucket list as well as Alaska.

3rd trip to Kursk, Russia

6.  I’m a computer geek.  Luckily I went back to school and got another Masters and I have been working as an Instructional Technologist for the past 16 yrs.  Digital photography is my passion.  I never leave the house without a camera.

7. Finally, Dec 29, 2011 was one of the worst days in my life.  I fell avoiding an ice patch while out running and broke my ankle in several places.  I had a plate and 8 screws put in. It was a very long recovery.  The doctor said that I may play tennis again but probably would not be able to run.  But I proved him wrong!!  I started running after 5 months and starting playing tennis after 8 months.

then

20140623-082549-30349258.jpg

now

Here are some “inspiring” bloggers (in no particular  order):

  1. 14 in 2014
  2. Age Groups Rock
  3. Barking Mad about Running
  4. Run this Apple
  5. Runs with Pugs
  6. Slowly Tri-ing
  7. Shut up and Run
  8. My Journey to Fit
  9. MCM Mama
  10. Mom Running from Cancer
  11. 111 La La Lane
  12. Pam Robbins Runs
  13. Road Runner Girl
  14. Run the Great Wide Somewhere
  15. We Run Disney

Happy Running!  Please tag yourself if you are reading this post & I haven’t tagged you.

11 thoughts on “I guess I’m “inspiring”

  1. thank you! i’m the worst about doing these things but i appreciate it and will try to remember to get to it. 🙂 glad you overcame that injury and are a running machine!

    Like

  2. Of course you’re inspiring!

    An African photo safari is on my bucket list, too.

    Alaska is beautiful. Funny, we always said we’d go there for our 20th anniversary, but when it rolled around we both decided Hawaii sounded better (we’ve been there 2 more times since).

    A lot of our traveling is me tagging along on a work trip with my husband (which is how I got to Europe a few times) & now him tagging along on my races.

    I’m really serious about the Alaska running cruise next year – I thought my husband would be more enthusiastic but he hates the fact that it’s not a deal. But he also knows I’m really serious about it. And it’ll be around our 30th. 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.