Wednesday Word: Comparison


Deb Runs

Every Wednesday, the Deb from Deb Runs will be providing a word about which to blog. Kind of like a nice little blog prompt. Posts can be fitness or health related, but don’t have to be, so really anyone can play along. Just be sure to link up with InLinkz on Deb’s main post, and share the love by reading and commenting on other’s participant’s posts.

This week’s Word is COMPARISON

Comparison is a natural impulse, especially for women.

I wish I had thinner thighs like ….

I wish I had bigger boobs like…

I wish I had a flatter stomach like…

Yes, comparisons to others will make you crazy. There will always be something about our looks that we are unsatisfied with.

And what about runners?  Do we compare?

Of course.

There’s the “I wish I could wear that when I run” to “if only I could run that far or that fast.”

We all try to run faster than the runner ahead of us.

walkwayhm1

We check the race results and compare ourselves to the other runners in our age group.

checking out the results board (photo by David Lee/Hudson-Catskill Newspapers )

Yes, we want that award.

20140727-112038-40838829.jpg

In the end, we can’t get carried away with the comparisons to other runners.

We are ALL RUNNERS and we are who we are.

Happy Running? Do you compare yourself to others?

runner-sig

9 thoughts on “Wednesday Word: Comparison

  1. That is all so true…I catch myself wishing I had a flat tummy like so and so, or a tan, etc…but running I try to keep it solo. I only try to beat myself, my own times. I think injury cured me and helped me to just enjoy moving 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.