Monday Running Update


spring 2015 monday
Last Week: 

  • Monday– I squeezed in a walk at work and then after work, went to my first Troy Turkey Trot training group run. I loved it. Holly & I chatted the whole run.  I even ran up the hills.
IMG_6843

Love this park’s flowers

IMG_3766

hilly but great run

sunset

view on my way home

  • Tuesday – Just a work day, a lunch time walk and 1 1/2 hours of tennis after work.
IMG_6842

flowers are here but slowly dying

  • Wednesday – I squeezing in a run on the track during work. I wasn’t sure if I would make it to the STEM group run/walk on time after work.  It’s a Couch25k program for survivors of domestic violence.

IMG_6866

With all the traffic,  I missed the STEM run so on my way home I stopped to run some more and discovered that the Rail Trail was completed (from Delmar to Albany.) Since I had already run that afternoon, I only did 2 miles.

IMG_6890

  • Thursday – A busy work day but managed a walk in the park at lunch and then a run after work on the same rail trail as yesterday.
IMG_6841

flowers are still in bloom

IMG_6914

finished just as it got dark – the days are getting shorter 😦

  • Friday -I took the day off and headed up to my friend’s house on Schroon River. (And yes, there is water there now.) I stopped off at the outlets (and bought stuff I needed and stuff I didn’t need) and then picked up my race packet.  I ate dinner in Chestertown and called it a night.
  • Saturday -It was nice to finally have only a 5 minute ride to the start of the race.  It was colder than I hoped (like 38 degrees.) The 10k was hilly as I expected but I won an age group award which is always nice.

hf10kb

IMG_6940

1:00:10 – not a PR but 2nd in my AG

After the race, I drove back to my friend’s house to run some more miles (though my legs protested.)

IMG_6944

only got in 2.8 miles

IMG_6948

But my run was interrupted when my hubby called to say that he was waiting at the marina. I hurried there and we spent a wonderful day picnicking with some friends on one of the islands of Lake George.

IMG_6949

IMG_6953

We ended the day with a very late dinner out with more friends.

  • Sunday – We had hoped to spend another day on out boat but a party was planned for my MIL’s 90 the birthday. At least, I was able to squeeze in an easy mile run in the morning. (So my 12 mile weekend long run was in 3 parts over 2 days…)

12038287_10154200672714428_4679287681227959390_n

me the hubby

12038295_10154200672904428_74479307881338828_n

the family

24 miles for the week with only 3 rest days and 4 days of running. Half Marathon is 2 weeks away!!! Taper time!

This Week:  (Week #11 of HM training)

  • Monday-  3 mile run (with the Turkey Trot Training group)
  • Tuesday – rest
  • Wednesday – 3 mile run before work,volunteer walk/run with STEM group,  dinner  with the tennis ladies
  • Thursday –  4 mile run after work
  • Friday – rest, mah jongg
  • Saturday – 5k race + more miles
  • Sunday rest, day in NYC (walking, eating, Broadway show)
I am linking up for the Weekly Wrap hosted by Holly @ HoHoRuns and Tricia @ MissSippiPiddlin.   See rules here.
http://hohoruns.blogspot.com

Happy Running! How is your running going?  Any races ?

runner-sig

10 thoughts on “Monday Running Update

  1. It just always amazes me how you pack everything in.

    Congrats on the AG award! I was looking back at the stats for Maddie’s Mark and the first year I ran it I was actually 5th in my AG — of course no award, but I didn’t even know. I usually don’t even think to look. Unfortunately I’ve been slower since.

    Like

  2. That is a great picture of you and hubby 🙂 I love that dress.
    You were diligent and got it done this week! Congrats on AG! That’s a great 10K time, I am trying to get back to that myself but it didn’t happen last week…
    I wish we had a paved rail to trail, the one that is an hour from me is just trail. It looks like a great spot to run!

    Like

  3. What a busy weekend. Congrats on the AG award and yay for taper. I had a tough 16 mile run yesterday so today has been alot of resting a recovery. Three more weeks of increased mileage and then I taper for NYC Marathon. Can’t wait!

    Like

  4. I ditched a makeup run for the lake. It was beautiful and glassy but also cool. I doubt we’ll go back this year. Boo. You’ve had a great week and training leading up to this half. You’ll be fantastic. Enjoy your taper and good luck. Thanks for linking up with us.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.