Wednesday Word: Deprivation


Deb Runs

Every Wednesday, the Deb from Deb Runs will be providing a word about which to blog. Kind of like a nice little blog prompt. Posts can be fitness or health related, but don’t have to be, so really anyone can play along. Just be sure to link up with InLinkz on Deb’s main post, and share the love by reading and commenting on other’s participant’s posts.

This week’s Word is DEPRIVATION

or the “an ​absence or too little of something ​important.”

So what do we miss when we run?

  • Sleep.

Yes, there are mornings when I am very tired and probably should be sleeping but I go for a run.

IMG_6676

Yes, I have gotten up even earlier on weekends for a race than when I work during the week.

race_697_photo_14835366

  • Fun activities that our family or friends are doing.

Yes, I have missed out on many hours of boating because I chose to run.

Yes, I missed out on playing tennis with my friends because I chose to do my long run.

  • Money

Races aren’t cheap.

IMG_7074

And what about those clothes and running shoes?

shoes

But what do we gain when we run?

  • Energy

I may be tired when I start my run but when I am done, I always feel energized and have a better day at work 

photo

  • Friends

I have met so many great people in person and virtually since I’ve become a runner.

I am thankful for the women I have met running & for their inspiration

  • Positive Feelings of Accomplishment, Satisfaction, Self image…

There’s no better feeling than completing a good run and crossing the finish line of a race.

ME on page 2

  • Eat more or cheat and eat the good stuff.

After I run, I always give myself permission to eat something sweet.

had to do it again - only 90 calories!!

  • Opportunity to Travel & Visit new places

I’ve been to California, Florida, Vermont, Pennsylvania – all places that I wouldn’t have been if I didn’t run.

20140111-205747.jpg

naples 1-11u

  • Bling

Who doesn’t like bling?

1st

3rd

  • Being Active and Healthier

They go together.  Being more physically active makes you healthier. I could sit home and watch TV, take a nap or I could go out and run.

running at Nisky Bike Path
In my opinion, runners are not really deprived.  What we gain far outweighs what we lose.

Happy Running! As a runner, are you deprived?

runner-sig

5 thoughts on “Wednesday Word: Deprivation

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.