Wednesday Word: Ageless


Deb Runs

Every Wednesday, the Deb from Deb Runs will be providing a word about which to blog. Kind of like a nice little blog prompt. Posts can be fitness or health related, but don’t have to be, so really anyone can play along. Just be sure to link up with InLinkz on Deb’s main post, and share the love by reading and commenting on other’s participant’s posts.

This week’s Word is AGELESS

I love this word!!

That’s my goal …to be “ageless.”

And running makes me feel “ageless.”

DSC01360

I am more than 20 years older than the women in this photo

image

finishing a half marathon with a former student of mine (probably 25 years younger than me)

It’s running that bonds us runners, not age!! Many of my running friends are younger and some are older.  It doesn’t seem to matter how old we are.

Sometimes, younger runners beat me.  Other times, I beat them.

Register for The Biggest Loser RunWalk at www.biggestloser.com/runwalk

Sometimes, older runners beat me.  Other times, I beat them.

Lighthouse 5K

In other words,, I do not want not let my age define me and I want to be able to do anything I want (despite my advanced age.)

I never want to say “I can’t do that. I’m too old.”

???????????????????????????????

not too old to get goofy

In fact, I am much more active now than I was in my 20s and 30s.

me on Saturday

I am healthy and I certainly don’t feel my age. Yes, I am 62!! But I don’t feel 62.

I feel like I can run any distance that I choose from 5ks to even marathons.(I’m not saying I want to run a marathon but just that it’s not an age thing.)

race_697_photo_14838692

And I can even get PRs.

Last year I PRed for 5k, 10k and 10 miles.  This year, for 4 mile, 5 mile, 15k and Half marathon. I still feel that I can get better.

Stockadeathon 15k

Wouldn’t it be great to live the quote below?

Happy Running! Does your age define?  If so, how?

runner-sig

18 thoughts on “Wednesday Word: Ageless

  1. You do look amazing, no way you look any older than any of your running buds.
    My run buddy is in her early 30’s, sometimes I get a twinge of jealousy, I’d love to be that age again, but you got to appreciate where you are right?!
    I hope I have a good race this Saturday, I am sure that make me feel young again 🙂

    Like

    • Good luck on your race. I am sure you will be fine. Remember, you will be doing something a lot of younger women cannot do …run 131.1 miles. Be proud.

      Like

  2. You are exactly right that Darlene ageless, I enjoy so much reading about what you are doing, what you love from your running to tennis to fun with the girls! Age is not something that should slow any of us down, maybe make us smarter but not stop us from doing anything we love! 🙂

    Like

  3. Sounds like we have a lot of the same type running friends – younger ones! I might need a little longer to recover, but I love that some of my friends like to run with me because they have to work hard to keep up and that makes them better runners. 🙂

    Congrats on all of your PR’s. I’ve PR’d in the last two years in a couple of distances that I didn’t run often when I was younger, and that feels great!

    Thanks for linking up!

    Like

  4. such a great word and i totally agree with these points. running/exercise takes years off your life and makes you look/feel so much healthier and younger. you look amazing and are so active and i hope i’m as fit as you at your age! 🙂

    Like

  5. I love this post so much. I will be 62 in about one month and each year I am happy that I am still active and fit and enjoying life. One of the things I like most about running is the connections you can make despite a person’s age. I now have some very young friends and it is fun sharing a love of a sport with any age. And you look wonderful for 62! 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.