Runfessions November


It’s that time again.  Time to get things off my chest with Marcia’s Runfessions at Marcia’s Healthy Slice
I runfess…
I can’t seem to motivate myself to run in the morning before work.  It’s not that I sleep in but I am lazy.  I sit around watching the Today show, eating breakfast and reading email/blogs.
Things gotta change.  I am missing those awesome sunrises and instead I am running in the dark.
IMG_7370

my runs this year

I runfess…
I am a fair weather runner.  I don’t care how tired I am or how many miles I’ve run the day before but if it is nice weather, I want to run.
Take yesterday. After having run 9.3 miles the day before, it was 65 degrees so I had to run. (It was a very short slow one.)
On the other hand, when it is COLD or cloudy or BOTH, I hate to run.  If I didn’t have a race to train for, I don’t know how often I would get out there.
image

good thing I had company for this one

My first year of running, I quit running running from November to April. I didn’t want to run in the cold. Now I put up with it.
I runfess…
I hate to admit it but it is hard for me to run a race without trying to PR.
I did it TWICE recently.
For the GOTR 5k, I was pacing Kelly on her first 5k.  Yes, it was rewarding and I enjoyed being part of it.  But part of me wanted to see if I could PR on this fast course.
IMG_7516

my just for fun 5k

Then on the Troy Turkey Trot 5k, I knew that I would be tired after the 10k and couldn’t really PR.  Again, I wondered whether I should do it at all or maybe just run the 5k and try to PR.
IMG_7534

my oh so slow 5k

Sometimes it sucks being so competitive.
I runfess…
And speaking of PRs…
Although Thursday was Thanksgiving and I had to remind myself many times about how thankful I was that I was not injured and could run, I still was disappointed in my 10K finish time.
IMG_7535

almost 3 minutes slower than last year 😦

It was even more disappointing because I participated in the training group for this race and that I know I am capable of much more than I gave in this race.
I runfess…
I still drive by my FREE gym twice everyday. Every time I do, I say to myself “I should go!! It’s crazy not to.”
Yet, I do not! I think it’s because with exercising, the rewards are not tangible as they are with tennis or running.
I runfess…
I still have not bought the battery for my scale.
There was machine in the grocery store that took your weight, heart rate and BP and I used it the other night.
I was shocked at my weight but then again, I was wearing running shoes, and several layers of running clothes.  They are heavy, right?
I runfess…
I am very vain…
I am picky about how I look when I run.  I never just go out and run.  I always plan my outfits.  I think I have spent more time on thinking about what to wear for my next half than the race itself.
IMG_7522
IMG_7523
So which one should I wear?

Happy Running! Do you have something to Runfess?

runner-sig

Don’t forget to enter my giveaway!

 

10 thoughts on “Runfessions November

  1. Oh gosh I’m guilty of so many of those too! My worst one is feeling disappointed in my time! I just ran a half on Thursday. And I finished it about 5 minutes slower than last time. I finished it in 1:54!! I should be grateful for being healthy enough to run 13 miles in under 2 hours at age 52!! And I am….sorta.

    Like

    • I know what you mean. Some of my friends think I am fast so it’s hard to complain. And yes, sub 2 is fantastic…it’s my dream!! I think it’s just a dream at my age.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m with you on the planning out the race outfits 😉 It’s probably the art geek in me, but I take lots of pics & selfies for my running page on FB and Instagram…I really don’t want pics of me in the SAME outfit reappearing LOL

    Like

  3. I wish my scale would die about now…I am seeing some numbers going up again and it drives me crazy! Mostly because I know I willl run slower 😦
    I love outfit number 2 with the pink!

    Like

  4. I have worn the same dang shirt multiple times for races, which irks me when I see pictures – seriously, I totally get the different outfit thing and don’t know what I was thinking! I like both of your choices but am leaning toward the first set (I like the design on the hat).

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.