Monday Running Update


spring 2015 monday
Last Week: 

  • Monday –  Got up early and went to a short run/walk around the G’s community (in Jupiter, FL).

image

Then G & I walked along the beach (windy, cloudy but no rain), visited a turtle refuge and a thrift shop.

image

After a late lunch, G drove me to the airport in West Palm.

  • Tuesday – Played 1 1/2 hours of tennis after work followed by dinner out.
  • Wednesday Planned to run before work but it was raining. So after work, I could have gone to yoga or see tennis great, Venus Williams at UAlbany but instead I chose to run. Afterwards went to the mall to do some holiday shopping.
image

around Albany campus

  • Thursday – Ran after work and then met my bff for a walk around the mall.

the law school where I work

  • Friday – Just a work day and then mah jongg in the evening.
image

celebrating a fellow mah jongg player’s b-day

  • Saturday – Ran a 5k race close to my house. After the race, I ran some more miles on the nearby (unpaved) rail trail for a total of 10 for the day. The weather was perfect.  I didn’t want to stop running. The rest of the day was filled with errands and catching up on the housework that I didn’t do last weekend.
image

28:16 – 2nd in my AG (but only medal for 1st)

image

  • Sunday – Annual holiday visit to NYC with friends.  After we arrived by bus, we walked to a restaurant to have brunch. Then continued our walking to see more of the holiday decorations. Next we took a 2 hour walking food tour of Greenwich Village followed by more of NYC by night around the Rockefeller Center area before heading home by train. Long, tiring (24k steps) but fun day.

28 miles done with 4 runs and 3 rest days.

This Week:  (7 weeks until Half Marathon #17)

  • Monday – 3 miles, dinner out with a co-worker
  • Tuesday – tennis
  • Wednesday – 2 miles after work, yoga
  • Thursday –  4 miles after work
  • Friday – rest, mah jongg
  • Saturday – 5k night race
  • Sunday – 5 miles, dinner & movie for bff’s b-day
I am linking up for the Weekly Wrap hosted by Holly @ HoHoRuns and Tricia @ MissSippiPiddlin.   See rules here.
http://hohoruns.blogspot.com

Happy Running! How is your running going?  Any races ?

runner-sig

21 thoughts on “Monday Running Update

    • It was her sister Venus. I have seen both Venus & Serena before when they played in Albany. If I had know how poorly attended it was, I would have.

      Like

  1. hope you had a blast in NYC yesterday — you had the most perfect weather! my boyfriend and i went to see the tree around 4:30 yesterday and it was a MADHOUSE of a scene — we couldn’t even handle it so we forewent seeing the shop windows and will go back tomorrow. looks like you had a great weekend.

    Like

      • i was there at 4:30ish and was like, whatttt is this mess! we went to stand across from Saks b/c i like that light show, but it wasn’t on when we were there and i couldn’t wait — the crowds were killing me.

        Like

  2. OK, I am dying to know – why the pink/flowers hat? Is that her lucky hat? Your friend seems to be wearing it in every picture you post of her, from tennis, to this birthday party. Curious minds want to know! 😉

    Like

    • I have known her for 15 years and she has always worn it. I don’t know why and she’s very sensitive so I don’t ask. I have seen her hair and it is pretty but she says that this is her “persona.” I don’t question it because she is the sweetest and most generous person and a serious tennis player.

      Like

  3. Oh, the lights in NYC are so pretty! Both times I visited were in late November and I got to see a few. The lights at your law school are very pretty, and subtle. Congratulations on your 5k time! That’s awesome. I don’t like it when they award only first place. Boo. Hopefully, I’ll be running half #37 in about 8-9 weeks. I’ve got some catching up to do with you and your races! Thanks for linking Darlene.

    Like

  4. Lady you never missed a beat going from FL to New York City did ya! So how long is the bus ride to NYC anyway? This sounds like a fantastic day out with the girls and a walking food tour? How cool! My step-daughter is visiting NYC and also Boston over Christmas Holiday and I’m so dang jealous I can hardly stand it! Thank you for linking and good luck in the giveaway!

    Like

  5. My next race is end of January, but LOTS of running on the agenda because I have some long runs as part of my training plan, every other or every third weekend. VERY LONG runs….

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.