Monday Running Update


mon r u
Last Week: 

  • Monday –  First day back at work after 11 days off.  And it was freezing!! No running for me, just 1 1/2 hours of doubles tennis after work
  • Tuesday – Another freezing day (the coldest of the winter so far) but I bundled up and ran outside after work.

  • Wednesday – A lot warmer today (30 vs 10). I took a quick run after work before going to a yoga class.
img_8090

my legs felt great yesterday but today, very sluggish!!

lheartspaceogo

  • Thursday – Rode the exercise bike at work during lunch.  I didn’t love it but I didn’t hate it (and I was able to KNIT while on it 🙂 ).  Went out to dinner with an old friend.
  • Friday – I had planned to run today but the iffy weekend weather made me skip it. I actually walked for 15 min in the morning and rode the exercise bike for 1/2 hr (while knitting) at lunch.
20140401-112401.jpg

just walked in circle around the lst floor with a co-worker

  • Saturday – I had hoped for a relaxing day but since rain was forecast for Sunday, I needed to do my long run instead. I ran 5 by myself and then Judy arrived to run the last 6. Thanks Judy.

img_8117

The rest of the day was filled with housework and taking doing those holiday decorations finally.

  • Sunday – Another free race – I had planned to run the 10K and follow it with 3.8 more miles to complete my 10 mile long run.  But I had done my long run on Saturday and since it was pouring, I DNSed.
img_8044

cross-training??

17 miles done with 3 runs and 4 rest days. (9 miles less than last weeks. Oops)

This Week:  (3 weeks until Half Marathon #17) 

  • Monday – 4 mile run after work
  • Tuesday – rest, holiday brunch at work, tennis
  • Wednesday – holiday lunch at work, 4 mile run after work
  • Thursday –  rest
  • Friday –  3 mile run, mah jongg chez moi
  • Saturday – rest
  • Sunday – HMRRC Winter Series #4  – 15K race + 1.7 more miles
I am linking up for the Weekly Wrap hosted by Holly @ HoHoRuns and Tricia @ MissSippiPiddlin.   See rules here.
http://hohoruns.blogspot.com

Happy Running! How is your running going?  Any races ?

runner-sig

23 thoughts on “Monday Running Update

      • I didn’t say I was going to stop running! But VA Beach would’ve cost $105, and if I sign up soon, Kiawah will only cost $60, I think (altho hotels will probably be way more expensive).

        I’m thinking of just doing the 3 miler this weekend, but I haven’t made up my mind. And I have to contact my other friend, too.

        Like

        • And then there’s airfare vs driving.

          The race this Sunday depends on the weather – they’re saying snow but who knows. I’m glad that I ran long last Saturday. It was the right decision. Barbara didb’t run the race either. There were the fast hardcore ones who did.

          I’m thinking the 15k but if the weather is worse on Saturday, I’ll do the same as this weekend.

          Like

  1. Another free race? The one you mentioned the other day was put on by your town or something, wasn’t it? How did you get this free race?
    I know some race directors will give you a free race if you volunteer at one of their other races. I plan to do that at least once this year.
    Andy

    Like

  2. I LOL’d when I saw you knit while riding the stationary bike. The weather is not that great for running now, but since I am injured, I’ll be cross training and working on strength so it does not happen again.

    Like

    • so sorry that you are injured. I hope it is not serious and you’ll be back to running soon. It’s cold and snowy here today. It’ll be hard getting outside.

      Like

  3. Ha way to go on multi-tasking right! I don’t blame you for skipping running in that weather! Goodness! So after 11 days were you ready to get back in a normal routine or not? I love my job but it’s a job! I think I could find my own routine without work. Well it’s not happening anytime soon lol!

    Like

  4. OK, I’m taking up knitting. Riding on the bike trainer can be boring if I don’t have a good movie to watch! If I had 11 days off, my work would be piled to the ceiling. You should have seen my desk after three days! It makes you not want to take vacation…ever. I think it’s wonderful that you and Judy can run together. Thanks for linking with us Darlene!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.