Wednesday Word is back: Derail


WednesdayWordScrabbleButton

The first Wednesday of each month, the Deb from Deb Runs will be providing a word about which to blog. Kind of like a nice little blog prompt. Posts can be fitness or health related, but don’t have to be, so really anyone can play along. Just be sure to link up with InLinkz on Deb’s main post, and share the love by reading and commenting on other’s participant’s posts.

Image result for derail definition

This week’s word is DERAIL.

So what does the word mean?

 to cause to be deflected from a purpose or direction, permanently or temporarily

What can derail your running?

  • Weather

Especially if you live in an area where there is ice and snow all winter or in an area where it is too hot or humid to run all summer.

winter5-384

  • Health

It’s no fun running with a cold, the flu or a fever.

  • Time Commitments

Work, family and other important things can get in the way of you getting out there to run. Sometimes it may even be impossible to run under these conditions.

  • Overuse Injuries

These are the aches and pains that you caused by too many or too frequent runs and they keep you out of commission for several days or weeks.

  • Serious Injuries

These are broken bones or surgeries that could possibly end your running.

The things mentioned above are out of your control. You have to accept them and move on.

Image result for derail quotes

But there are many excuses that derail a runner but should NOT:

  • Too busy.

Prioritize things.  Make a schedule. Be creative. Fit it in anytime of day.  You know, before work, at lunch, after work, etc.

  • Too tired.

Getting out there is the hardest part.  You’d be surprised that after a run, you have more energy than before.

  • No place to run.

Again be creative.  Look for bike paths.  Ask other runners.  Use a treadmill in a gym.

bike trail on the Hudson River

bike trail on the Hudson River

  • No running partner.

Try social networking venues to find someone to run with.  Sign up for races.  You may find a partner there.  Join a local running group.

10422515_10152728634751618_2533787278118590781_n

  • Not enough money to race often.

Be selective about the races you do run.  Look for race entry give-aways.  And not every runner has to run a lot of races. Do a “virtual” race.

  • Too slow.

As they say “you are lapping those on the couch.”  No one is too slow to be a runner.  Your pace is your pace.

  • A bad race.

Everyone has them.  Quickly sign up for another race and another after that.  You will soon forget about that bad one.

  • You are not getting any PRs.

Not every race can be a PR.

If you haven’t been running a long time, you may need to train differently or even get a coach.

Eventually as we age, we will slow down.  Our running goals will no longer be PRs.

Image result for derail quotes

Happy Running.  Have you had to deal with any of the above running derailments?

runner-sig

 

13 thoughts on “Wednesday Word is back: Derail

  1. I’m LOL at some of the advice that I know you would never actually do, but it’s good advice!

    And yes, obviously, I’ve had to deal with some of it. Wondering where I will get to run Sunday and whether I just need to embrace the Yaktrax again. 🙂

    But I’m grateful we’ve been pretty lucky so far!

    Like

    • Really? I thought I did them all.

      If there’s no ice, you don’t need the Yaks. I am fine running in the snow without them. I think they slow you down.

      I am running outside today. Hopefully the paths will be clear at Ualbany.

      Not sure about this weekend. If it is bad up North, I may have to postpone until Sunday but I would have to run early. Where are you running and how many miles?

      Liked by 1 person

        • I have done many virtual races (about 10) and when I worked in my previous job, I ran on the treadmill and when I played tennis where there was a gym, I did as well. You are only referring to me recently. I rarely do virtual races or run on the treadmill now.

          I have to run 10 or 11 but I have a 4 mile race on Saturday. We’ll see.

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.