TOLT: Weather, Training, Racing, etc.


Since it is Thursday, I’m linking up today with Amanda for Thinking Out Loud Thursday.

thinking out loud

Here’s what I’m thinking about today:

WEATHER:

Ok, the weather lately has been crazy!!

Not because I was just in Florida.  In the NE, it has been warm enough to run in a tank top several times.


So look at the forecast for the next few days:

with the wind chill, it’s supposed to be below zero 😦

Last year at this time, it hit 80 degrees!!

RUNNING:

It’s just hard to fit in.  Work will be getting in the way…more and more.  I’m trying not to be a whiner but I’m going to run whenever I can.  I am not that dedicated to get up at crazy hours or run late at night when I am exhausted.  My health and my happiness are more important than running.

So this week, it may only be just once.  And that’s ok.

And if that’s the way it’s going to be, I will re-adjust my expectations for my races.  I love racing and I plan to continue racing even if I don’t have time to train. I know that if I don’t train, my finish times will suffer.  As long as I stay healthy and can run, I’m happy.

Well, of course, I’d be happier if I could do all my runs during the week and improve my times.  But we can’t always do what we want.

This is so much better than being injured, right?

happy to run with my buddy once a week

MY LAST HALF MARATHON:

I didn’t expect to run well.  I didn’t train well.

I expected to love the race and the course and I did!!

I didn’t have an awful finish time but it was slower than the last 5 out 7 of my half marathons.

It was insanely windy but unfortunately it wasn’t only the wind.

My stomach cramped, then my back and feet ached.  No injuries and I am grateful for that.  I didn’t give up and pushed through the pain.  I am proud of how tough I am!

enjoyed meeting other Skirt Sports ambassadors

UP NEXT?

I have a frigid four mile race this Saturday and races almost every weekend.

this same race two years ago.

I am also starting my training for my next half marathon which is in hilly Central Park, NYC on April 30.

Image result for shape women's half marathon
That means that I will need to add extra miles onto my races.  This weekend, I have 7 miles on the schedule.

This is not an optimal way to do your long runs but it makes me happy to race.  Plus, I don’t have PR goals for any of my half marathons.

Happy Running! What’s on your mind today?  How are you dealing with the crazy temps?  How do you cope when life prevents you from running?  Do you do your long runs in-interrupted?

9 thoughts on “TOLT: Weather, Training, Racing, etc.

  1. Yes, I try to run my long runs all at one time- other than stopping to pee 🙂 The weather has been crazy according to Instagram! Have fun at the race- injury free is the way to be!

    Like

  2. I take a week off usually after a half — even if I have another one coming up (we’ll see what Rachel has planned after my half). It works for me.

    I don’t mind the temps so much as I do the WIND. It’s driving me insane! Not only to run in, fighting it for 3 hours last weekend in my little car was very tiring.

    Like

  3. Hating the weather this winter! The snow just won’t stop falling! I think it’s confused and is really supposed to be over on the east coast, 😀
    You did great on that half! You even recovered from the flu in the midst of training! But oh, what a great trip!

    Like

  4. I am sticking with your finishing is winning!! My last half was very slow too but I did it and it does feel good to finish.
    You are tough 🙂 Life happens, we can’t always get done all the training we want.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.