Delmar Dash 5 Mile Un-Race Recap


If you look at the title, you’ll see that it says UN-RACE.  That’s because I ran the course but I did not run the race.

This is one of my favorites courses because I am familiar with the streets, it is flat and it is only 10 minutes from my house.

This would have been my 6th time running this race.

But I didn’t. Saturday morning when I got up, my back was really painful.  I thought that it was odd since the only thing I did on Friday was sit, sit at work, sit at mah jongg.  (Too much sitting??)

I went to gym and only did the arm machines, went shopping, etc.  My back continued to ache.

I still planned to run the race. I picked up my race packet and even went out to dinner.

long sleeved women’s tech shirt 🙂

I got up Sunday morning and my back was even more sore.  It hurt to stand and walk.

So I got dressed, had my pre-race breakfast and contemplated what to do.

I knew that I should not run the race and potentially make it worse (and maybe interrupt my half marathon training.)

I could have just run it and not race it.

But I know myself (hey, I raced on a broken foot, stress fracture, etc.). I knew if I started the race, I would run it as fast as I could…trying to PR and win an age group award.

So I made the tough decision – NOT to run the race!!

I’m even in the FB cover photo. 😦

It was hard.  You know how I love to race.  This was a flat course.  And to make matters worse, for the first time in weeks, it was a perfect racing day.  40’s and sunny!!

With weather that awesome, I could not sit home so I drove to the race start but arrived about 1/2 hour after it started. That way, I would not be tempted to run it.  I parked on the street and started to run the course.

The race started on the street but ended in front of the school entrance – previous year’s pic

I ran it slowly.  Chatted with all the volunteers and tried to stay on the course.  Since I was last, they had started removing the signs. I didn’t wear my bib but I wasn’t even last.  One very very old guy finished after me.

That’s me. I think I stopped to watch the kids racing

Unfortunately, I didn’t get to run with Barbara but I did see her as she was leaving.  I am so happy that she is healthy again.

I did stop inside to chat with all my friends who had just finished.  I even had cake and hot chocolate. (I mean I did pay for the race.)

Of course, I checked the results. Darn, those usual speedy ladies didn’t run and for the first time, I may have won an award in this race. (I finished a hillier 5 mile race last week at 46:09.) But then again, you never know.

Anyway, I still needed to run 5 more miles…ugh!!

Last year, Judy and Barbara kept me company. But this year, I was solo.

I left my car where it was and headed into town. Then I cut over to the rail trail.

My run was slow but I listened to some podcasts and eventually completed 5 miles.

Yes, my back continued to ache but the pain was bearable and felt better the more I ran. (Soaking in the hot tub later helped too!)

10 miles done… 4 weeks until my next half marathon.

Let’s hope I don’t have any more setbacks.


I am also sharing in the support love by linking up with a Sunday Fitness and Food Linkup hosted by

Ilka from Ilka’s Blog and Angela from Marathons & Motivation

 Happy Running! How was your weekend? Any running or racing? Ever DNS in a race?  Back pain anyone?

runner-sig

14 thoughts on “Delmar Dash 5 Mile Un-Race Recap

  1. I’m sorry your back has been hurting – it had to have been bad for you to not race! I bet it is from too much sitting – same thing has happened to several of my family members, and it’s all traced back to some epic sitting sessions. Good news is that it goes away soon enough.

    Like

  2. Hi Darlene! I’ve been having back pain this week, too. I agree with Wendy – it seems to be the “in thing” this week among us runners..
    You are so dedicated! I love that you ran this race anyway, even though you actually “cancelled” it. Sitting on the sidelines is so hard when you love something so much, isn’t it? Next time you’ll get an AG award – I know it! Your dedication will pay off!
    Hope your back is feeling better this week!

    Like

  3. I hope your back is feeling better! That is tough to deal with while running. Thanks so much for linking up at Sunday Fitness & Food!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.