TOTR: May Report Card


Image result for bye bye month of may
So spring arrived, left and then returned.

Here’s how my favorite month turned out:

Weekday Runs:

I was able to run at least 3 times outdoors each week which is great because I do not have a treadmill at home.

I ran at UAlbany (near work), at the Crossings, near home, in a local park and even at the Corning Bike Path. I even ran 4 times while on vacation in Florida.

I ran alone some of the time. But Alyssa was able to accompany me often. It’s definitely more fun running with friends.

I continued to attend some of the Monday sessions of the Freihofer Run for Women Training Challenge. (I missed weeks 7 & 8.) Coach Patrick put us through those speed drills that I normally would never attempt on my own.

I continued my volunteering stint with the STEM runners this month. Unfortunately with vacation and work, I had to miss several sessions. This was our big month since the race is in early June.

After the Workforce Challenge, my co-workers decided to get together once a week to run after work – either Wednesday or Thursday. I plan to participate when I can.

Long Runs:

I had a half marathon during the month but I was lax about my long runs.  I did not do one while on vacation.  So I skipped my 12 miler but did run 8 miles on Mother’s Day.

Total Mileage:

I only ran 81 miles this month (as compared to 102 last month.) A slow month, considering I was training and ran a half marathon? I expect to continue as this rate throughout the summer.  But I am still on track to reach 1000 for the year if I stay healthy. 🙂

Races:

I had four races on my schedule this month – two 5ks, a 3.5 miler and a half marathon.

The Tropicool 5K was lots of fun and I came in 3rd in my age group. It rained during the Summer Smith 5k but I won my age group. The Workforce Challenge was a very sweaty but fun experience. And I unexpectedly PR’d at the Steel Rail Half.

Cross Training:

I still play tennis (indoors, of course.) I am scheduled to play two Tuesdays a month but with work and other stuff, I only played once this month. However, while on vacation, I played for at least 2 hours on 5 separate days. It made me remember why I play tennis and how much fun it is.

I did go to work out at the gym several times. My goal was twice a week, though. I didn’t quite achieve that.

I did walk several times a week at lunch – around the outdoor shopping mall or the nature trail. Not everyday like I used. But more often since the weather has cooperated. During vacation, I walked to and from the tennis courts, on the beach and around the community on the days that I didn’t run.

Other News:

I had a fantastic 8-day vacation in Florida – lots of tennis, beach time and eating/drinking.

I also celebrated by birthday while in Florida and several times after.

I went to a few movies: Zookeeper’s Wife, Boss Baby, A Quiet Passion. The hubby and I started up our boating on the weekends.

Running is not my whole life. I think it is important to make time for other things that bring you pleasure.

Feeling healthy so Life Is Good.

Looking Ahead:

No more half marathons planned until October 1 in Corning, NY. (Although there’s one on Sept. 9 in VT that a friend is trying to talk me into.)

I have quite a few shorter races planned. My race season has kicked into high gear.

This is my list so far for the next 2 months:

  • 6-03-17 – Freihofer’s Run for Women 5k
  • 6-11-17 – Run for Hope 5K (volunteer with STEM) or Betar Byway 5k & Moreau Mile??
  • 6-17-17 – Good Karma 5k
  • 6-25-17 – Adirondack Distance Run (10 m)
  • 7-05-17 – PPTC Al Goldstein Summer Series #4 5k (NYC)
  • 7-09-17 – Saratoga Strong to Serve 5k
  • 7-22-17 – Silks n Satins 5k

I am linking to Deb at DebRuns for her May Race Linkup:

Deb Runs

No monthly goals.

This motto worked for 2016 so I’m sticking with it in 2017!


Since today is Tuesday, I’m also linking up with these wonderful ladies:

Erika @ MCM Mama Runs, Marcia @ Marcia’s Healthy Slice and Patty @ My no-guilt life for

Today’s Topic is: Give your running month a letter grade.

I’d say overall an B+. Vacation derailed my eating, working out and training.  My weekly mileage really decreased as well. I hope to improve all that next month.

What do you think?


This week I am also joining up with Running on Happy, Suzlyfe, Crazy Running Girl, and Coach Debbie Runs each week for the Coaches’ Corner linkup

coachescorner

runner-sig

14 thoughts on “TOTR: May Report Card

  1. I think you had a great month! and yes to other things than running! So you miss a long run here and there but you had so much fun and kept so busy with all your activities. I give you an A my friend!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.