TOTR: November Report Card


Image result for november is over welcome december
Fall continued with some warm days, some cool days and even some very cold days. A sign that winter is on the way.
Here’s how November worked out for me:

Weekday Runs:

I was able to run at least 3 times outdoors each week which is great because I do not have a treadmill at home. I prefer to run 4 times but sometimes it just doesn’t happen.

I ran at UAlbany (near work) or near home.  Unfortunately, my preferred routes don’t have lights and it is now too dark when I get out of work. I did run while in Liverpool for work but not while in Buffalo. (I hope to run while in NYC this week.) My weekday runs were usually around 3-4 miles.

I ran alone most of the time. But Alyssa was able to accompany me only a few times. It’s definitely more fun running with friends.

Since the Turkey Trot running group ran on Tuesdays this year, I could not run with them 😦  Even my work schedule interfered with volunteering to help the STEM runners train for their first 5k. 

Long Runs:

Long runs ended with my half marathon being on Nov. 12. Without a long race until March 2018, I still plan to run at least 6 miles on the weekend. I don’t predict double digits until February!

Total Mileage:

I have run 70 miles this month so far. A big decrease over last month (102) but I am feeling healthy so all is good.

Races:

I had several races on my schedule this month. In Las Vegas, I ran the RNR 5k and Half Marathon. The half was my slowest this year but these races were never about time but about the experience and racing in Las Vegas was an amazing experience. I also ran local on Thanksgiving, both the Troy Turkey Trot 10k and 5k. My legs felt strong for the 10k and although it was not a PR, my finish time was faster than last year.

Cross Training:

I actually played tennis 4 times indoors.  Woo Hoo!!!!

I did NOT go to work out at the gym at all!!!! Not once! Nunca! Jamais! No excuses because I live near a free gym and my tennis club membership this year includes free access to the gym.

I thought I might fit in a yoga class. I did NOT!!

I did walk-occasionally at lunch. Not everyday like I used to. I find it hard to tear myself away from my desk and I have been traveling a lot. 

Other News:

I got in additional sightseeing when I was in Las Vegas for the two races. 

thoroughly enjoyed my 6 hour tour of Red Rock Canyon

There were also quite a few friend-bonding activities.  Can’t have too many of those.

As you can tell, running is not my whole life. I think it is important to make time for other things that bring you pleasure….family, friends, food….

Feeling healthy so Life Is Good.

Looking Ahead:

No other half marathons planned until March.

I have just a few shorter races planned. My racing schedule does slow down during the winter.

This is my list so far for the next 2 months:

  • 12-03-17 – HMRRC Winter Series #1 (3 m or 15k)?
  • 12-09-17 – Albany Last Run 5K
  • 1-01-18 – HMRRC Winter Series #2 (3.5m)
  • 1-14-18 – HMRRC Winter Series #3 (3m or 10K)
  • 1-28-18 – HMRRC Winter Series #4 (3m or 15K)

I am linking to Deb at DebRuns for her December Race Linkup:

Deb Runs
No monthly goals.

This motto worked for 2016 so I’m sticking with it in 2017!


Since today is Tuesday, I’m also linking up with these wonderful ladies:

Erika @ MCM Mama Runs, Marcia @ Marcia’s Healthy Slice and Patty @ My no-guilt lifefor

Today’s Topic is: Give your running month a letter grade.

I’d say overall a B+.

You know, zero gym attendance, skipping lunch time walks and weekly runs.  Though I had a lackluster performance in Vegas, I redeemed myself at the Turkey Trot 10K.


This week I am also joining up with Running on Happy, Suzlyfe, Crazy Running Girl, and Coach Debbie Runs each week for the Coaches’ Corner linkup

coachescorner

Happy Running! How did your November turn out?Anything exciting planned for December? 

What grade would you give your running month?

runner-sig

23 thoughts on “TOTR: November Report Card

  1. As you always say, finishing = winning. Heck, I also had my slowest half this year amidst the PRs. 🙂 Sometimes it’s definitely just about the experience. There’s only one half I’ve ever run that I regret — because I was injured & didn’t realize how bad it would be.

    I think you’re doing just fine considering all the travel you do. It’s tiring!

    Like

  2. I would definitely give you a higher grade than B+ for everything you were able to do in November! I’ve been calmed down on the racing front since October and spending more time in barre class…I would be open to finding some fun local races this winter!

    Like

  3. I had a very strong fall and strong month of November for running. Haven’t added up my mileage though, but I have consistently been running 3 times a week for the past 6 months which is huge for me. I am a gym rat too…. so I go at least 2 times a week to lift weights. Add in golf (which is not a sport but does include lots of walking) and my activity level has significantly increased this year. It is a good balance though.

    Like

  4. Sounds like you had a productive November! I love all your group outings. Next time the tennis ladies take on Broadway, I want to come! 😉 If only I lived closer…

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.