Friday Five 2.0 – Runfessions for June


It’s that time again. Time to get things off my chest with Marcia’s Runfessions at Marcia’s Healthy Slice

1. I runfess…

I got my running shoes soaked during a 5k race so I took out the insoles to let them dry.

I took the same running shoes to NYC (for a week of working there) and put 11 miles on them in one day (only 3 was running) before I realized that I never put the insoles back into my shoes.

Yes, the shoes felt weird. I attributed it to different socks.

Since I had a 5k scheduled for that week, I had to go buy insoles for the shoes.

Good news – I like these insoles better than the ones that came with the shoes.

racing with my new insoles

Do you buy special insoles for your running shoes?

2. I runfess…

I ran a Brooklyn 5k where I definitely felt like a less than “serious” runner.

There were about 100 runners who finished with a pace under 7 min,

I ran well yet I finished near the BOTP. 438 out 657?

I guess I got spoiled with races where anyone regardless of pace signs up to run a 5k.

Do you ever run well and finish near the BOTP?

3. I runfess…

I might have been injured but I didn’t talk much about it in hopes that it would disappear.

After my Florida trip where I played tennis everyday, the arch of my right foot was very sore. It hurt after I ran. It hurt during the Brooklyn Half Marathon.

I googled it to death and iced after I ran.  No, I didn’t stop running. I thought it could be PF but to get rid of that injury, it seemed that I would have to rest my foot.

I had a 5k scheduled in Brooklyn and I hesitated to run it.  I thought about the fact that I could make it worse and be out of running for even longer.

But running is my therapy.  With my family, friend and job stresses, I needed to run or I’d go insane.

So I decided it was worth the risk of aggravating a maybe injury.

I ran the race. My foot was no worse and I’ve continued running and it feels less painful after each run.

not a great race but fast enough to win my age group

I guess I made the right decision. Phew!!

Do you ever ignore an injury and it went away?

4. I runfess…

I paid $39 to run a 5k just because there was ice cream afterward.

The ice cream was small and definitely not worth it. I could have run in the park for free and bought a huge ice cream sundae.

Ever sign up for a race because of the food post race?

5. I runfess…

I’ve been looking for a new pair of running shoes but didn’t want to pay full price – $149 (because truthfully I probably don’t really need them).

I found a pair for like $100.  They might have been cheaper because of the color??

Women's Nike Air Zoom Vomero 13 Running Shoes - Color: Racer Blue/Blue Tint/Royal Pulse (Regular Width) - Size: 6.5

I was excited. They match many of my race shirts and skirts.

It’s the little things that makes a runner happy…

Ever buy or not buy running shoes just because of the color?


It’s Friday so I’m linking up with Running on Happy & Fairytales and Fitness for the Friday Five 2.0 linkup! Join in! Don’t forget to link back to your hostesses and visit some other bloggers.

Happy Running! Anything to runfess this month? Please share.

runner-sig

34 thoughts on “Friday Five 2.0 – Runfessions for June

  1. Yes, I buy insoles for my shoes–I write about it all the time. I’ve had PF and I never want to go there again. Ignoring it does not make it go away. I run that spring 10 miler every year for the post race beer. Lagunitas IPA is my jam. Whenever I run in Florida, my AG placement is definitely skewed downwards. Those Florida old ladies are fast!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, they are.

      I got lazy about the insoles but now I like them. If you run in more than one pair of shoes, it’s a pain to switch them out.

      Like

  2. I feel you on the fast races, I love Hope 4 the Warriors but their 5K is the only one where I’ve come in dead last.
    And yep, I don’t love the coral running shoes I’m currently wearing but they were stupid cheap (same brand as always, just off color). They’re growing on me though

    Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah my outfit for today’s gym run might be a little ridiculous in the coral matching, but my inner girly girl escapes sometimes. Took advantage of the New Balance semi annual sale and got the next pair in a more sedate blue. I’m sad they discontinued hot pink which I loved

        Liked by 1 person

  3. LOL on the insole-less shoes! I use Superfeet in mine. I used to do a July 4th race in part because of the watermelon after but they changed the locale and it was too much hassle.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Yes, i run races for medals (though not food…but still basically the same thing). I have run injured in both scenarios….once it got worse, and once it got better. And, I am always at the BOTP (I call it slogging…. slow jogging, but it keeps me sane).

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I have to admit that races that offer a good post-race food spread are worth more money in my opinion!

    I have tried a few different insoles in sneakers but unfortunately none of them worked that well for me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Probably not worth the money for insoles then for you.

      I agree about the food. many people don’t care. Me, I like my post race food.

      Like

  6. I don’t buy shoes just because of the color, but I will always ask if they’re available in another color. 🙂

    Never bought (or even replaced) my insoles. I know I should but . . .

    I guess it depends on how you define running well. 🙂

    Like

    • I used to buy insoles but then I stopped. I think your shoes last longer if you do. I think they help cushion your feet too. but if you haven’t at this point, why bother?

      Well in this case “well” would mean, a decent finish time.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I won a pair of Zelus insoles and I really like them. However, I like them even better when I put them on top of the insoles in my shoes (and not take those out). That’s an awfully speedy 5k time!

    Like

  8. I did the same thing with insoles one time…took out the insoles and completely forgot to put them back. Went on a (rare) trail run…hills and thick grass, etc. and couldn’t figure out why my feet felt so weird. Then I got home and took off the shoes and realized the insoles were still sitting on the floor, right where I’d left them. #facepalm

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.