RnR Montreal Runfessions


It’s that time again. Time to get things off my chest about my most recent race-cation in Montreal with Marcia’s Runfessions at Marcia’s Healthy Slice

1. I runfess…

I signed up for the 5k only because if I ran both the 5k and the Half Marathon, I got THREE medals rather than ONE.

2. I runfess…

Even though I was planning to walk the 5k, I still carb loaded the night before the race…manicotti and an apple crepe. I ate more than before the half marathon.

This is Sunday’s dessert but Sat’s was similar

3. I runfess…

And after that 5k, I ate lunch as if I had just run an ultra -marathon….squash soup, bread and bagel & lox and salad.

This is Sunday’s soup too but you get the idea.

4. I runfess…

So as I said, I planned to walk that 5k.  I didn’t wear even wear my Garmin but… I DID NOT walk the race.  No surprise there.

I didn’t actually race the 5k.  I ran it slowly non-stop taking in every bit of the scenery.  Boy, is that the best way to race.

My pace was actually slower than for the half. (6:19 vs 6:16  – that’s kilometers).

5. I runfess…

During my half marathon, I planned to take a GU at one of the water stops but I ran past the water and there was only Gatorade. I hate Gatorade and I can’t take a GU without water.  So I saw a guy holding two cups of waters.  So I said “Are you going to drink both of those?” And he replied “No, take it.”

good but only with water!!!!

Yup, I drank someone else’s water.  I didn’t even care if he drank out of the cup first.  Don’t judge. LOL

And one more for good measure:

6. I runfess…

You know how I love getting age group awards.  I mean it validates that “old ladies can still fun fast.” Well, I saw on the big screen that they were giving out awards to the older folks but decided that I was too tired to walk all the way to the stage to see if I got one.

And of course, I did place 2nd!

I hope the award wasn’t anything good.


It’s Friday so I’m linking up with Running on Happy & Fairytales and Fitness for the Friday Five 2.0 linkup! Join in! Don’t forget to link back to your hostesses and visit some other bloggers.

Happy Running! Anything to runfess this month? Please share.

runner-sig

22 thoughts on “RnR Montreal Runfessions

  1. I’ve taken an unopened GU that another runner offered me during a half marathon once – hey, you do what you gotta do, right? I love that you won an AG award, but am sad you didn’t get it. And of course, I am looking forward to your race recap to see why it was such a bad race.

    Like

  2. ha ha…I have to laugh at the water of a fellow runner. In my first marathon, it was near the 14-mile mark and I had to blow my nose something terrible. They had given out wet wash cloths at the 13-mile mark, and I spotted someone else’s washcloth on the ground. You guessed it–that became my emergency tissue LOL

    Like

  3. Man, I wish I had your metabolism. I probably gained weight just looking at your photos.

    I have had more than one hot race, before I started to carry my own water, where I gave serious consideration to stealing someone’s water bottle.

    That’s amazing to place in your AG in such a large race.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.