2014: My Year in Racing


I’m linking up with Montana from Pretty Lil Mudder and a number of other Girls Gone Sporty members to give out some awards to the races I ran.  Since I ran so many, I had no problem finding a race for each category even though I only ran 2 half marathons and no marathons.

Most Scenic Course –  This was a little difficult to choose…along the river, along the ocean, along a lake, in a park??? But I will pick the Mayor’s Wellness 10 Miler (in Palm Springs) because of the awesome mountain views.


Most Challenging Course – For me, challenging is hills and distance but I think I’ll choose hills.  There were 2 that I ran along Lake George that were hilly but the Adirondack Distance was longer (10 miles) so more challenging.

Best Course Support (aid stations, volunteers, people cheering you on, etc) –

I would probably have give this one to the Stockade-athon.  There were many water stops & volunteers. And the people of Schenectady cheered the runners throughout the course. The photo below was taken by a friend along the course.

Best Expo  – It would have to be the Love Run (in Philly) since it is the only one I went to.  I went with friends and we had a lot of fun – lots of booths, free shirts, hair braiding, massages, etc.

Best Swag – Another tough one. Sometimes I like the shirt, sometimes the medal, sometimes you get other good stuff.  But I would have to pick the Apple Run 5K. You got a bag, shirt and a glass.  Plus the AG awards were plaques.

Most Unique Medal – I guess the most unique medal was the one made out of wood from the Camp Chingachgook 10k. All of my other medals are metal.

Best Post-Race Food/Beverages – I have run a few races that have had a good selection of post race food.  It is important if you spend a lot money on a race and if it is a destination race.  My vote this year goes to the Camp Chingachgook 10k.  They had an awesome barbecue of hamburgers, hot dogs, chicken, etc.

The Perfect 10 Miler had good post-race food as well (just too healthy for me.)

Best Race Shirt– This was easy.  It was the lilac hoodie from the Perfect 10 miler (in NJ.) It is very comfortable.  I have worn it several times already.

Favorite Overall Race – With running 33 races this year, it is certainly hard to pick one.  But if I have to, I’d say it was the Troy Turkey Trot 10k.  The weather cooperated, there was a lot of excitement surrounding the race and I saw a lot of racers that I knew there. It was just fun.  The only thing that would have made it better would have been an Age Group award.  At least, I had a PR.

Race You Are Most Proud of Yourself for Completing  – Half Marathons are tough for me.  I ran one this year in the pouring rain but my award goes to the Saratoga Half Marathon.  It was very very humid and I felt sick the whole race. I wanted to quit several times but toughed it out.

Happy Running! What awards would you give to the races you ran in 2014?

runner-sig

4 thoughts on “2014: My Year in Racing

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.