Tuesdays on the Run: My Worst Races & What They Taught Me


Erika @ MCM Mama Runs hosts Tuesdays on the Run with April @ Run the great wide somewhere and Patty @ My no-guilt life!

This week’s topic is: My Worst Race(s) & What They Taught Me

Worst races can happen for many reasons. So here are a few of my worsts:

Worst Weather  – this would be a tie for the Lake George Half Marathon and the Love Run Half Marathon.  Both were run in a COLD downpour for the whole 13.1 miles. I was freezing and wet and very uncomfortable.

lr2

Love Run 2014

lg4b

Lake George HM 2011

Worst Pain – this would be again a tie for the Runner’s World 5k and the Freihofer’s Run 2013.  Both were run with foot injuries. I had a stress fracture in my right foot for the RW race and a broken bone in my left foot for the FRW.

rw_5k_a

TW 5k 2012

frw35

FRW 2013

What I learned: I am stronger than I thought.  I can push through anything if it is important enough. I enjoy racing enough to run even through less than optimal conditions.

Worst Feeling (Physically) after the race – This would be after the Saratoga Springs Half Marathon.  I had a virus and it was hot and very humid.  I felt sick the whole race but stuck it out.  After the race, I almost passed out twice. UGH!

sshm4b

Saratoga HM 2014

What I learned: Hydration is very important.  Summertime may not be the best time for me to run a half marathon.

Worst Feeling (Mentally) – This would be after the Santa Clarita Half Marathon in CA. It was my 5th half that year and I trained really well for it.  I was expecting a PR.  Well, it didn’t happen for whatever the reason (rain, jet lag, altitude, etc.) When I knew I wouldn’t, I kinda gave up.  Afterwards, I felt very disappointed and that ruined the whole race experience for me. My friend also did not run well. So we both just wallowed in self pity.

St Clarita HM 2011

What I learned: Do not place so much importance on getting a PR. Anything can happen during a race and completing it is a victory in itself.  Just enjoy every race experience.

Happy Running!  What did you learn from your worst race?

runner-sig

11 thoughts on “Tuesdays on the Run: My Worst Races & What They Taught Me

  1. I heard the Love Run half marathon was brutal!! I also agree that not worrying about a PR is a good way to go. My goal this year is to not concern myself with race times at all…I’m hoping to stand by that statement!

    Like

  2. Great reflections! I love running in the rain when it’s warm (as it usually is in Florida), but I detest running in the rain when it’s cold! And wow on the running on broken feet! Thanks for linking up with us today!

    Like

  3. I always have a plan and a back plan lol usually it doesn’t take long to figure out whether it’s going to be a great or so-so day. I mostly learned at an event I did in July that was super hilly, to just walk if you aren’t feeling well, I had some real heat exhaustion and it’s scary and isn’t worth it – also never race in July again lol

    Like

  4. My worst half was one with knee pain so bad I had to walk the last 3 miles (only time that’s happened so far). I learned to take more time off if I feel an injury happening or starting, I eventually learned about taping, too, because of that one.

    Those lessons helped me bounce back from injury much, much quicker this time & even though it was painful, I was able to keep running this last half.

    Of course it was kind of ironic, because aside from Vegas, it was my flattest half.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.